Archive for Wednesday, April 19, 2000

Mirror staff wins newspaper awards

April 19, 2000

The Mirror is a winner.

Members of The Mirror's staff were presented Saturday with nine first-place awards in the Kansas Press Association's annual Awards of Excellence contest.

More than 2,600 entries were submitted for the annual contest by 78 Kansas newspapers, in both daily and weekly divisions. The awards were presented during Kansas Press Association's 108th annual Convention and Trade Show Saturday in Topeka.

The newspaper won first-place honors in these categories:

Feature writing (Lisa Stevens John).

Sports feature writing (Matthew Friedrichs).

Sports pages.

Best online newspaper Web site.

News and writing excellence.

Best use of photos by a paper.

Design and layout excellence.

Best front page.

General excellence.

"I can't tell you how pleased I am that our staff was recognized for all of the hard work and dedication they have shown since September," said Caroline Trowbridge, editor and publisher.

"They have proven that they're true professionals, who deserve this tremendous recognition by their peers. To win the awards that we won for only four months of work shows that we truly have something special here in Tonganoxie."

The Mirror was purchased last September by WorldWest LLC, based in Lawrence. A new staff took over operation of The Mirror at that time. The statewide newspaper contest covered all of 1999, but The Mirror entered only work done during the final quarter of the year.

The newspaper also won these honors:

One second-place honor for its editorial pages.

Third place for editorial writing (Caroline Trowbridge).

Honorable mention for Personal Column Writing (Lisa Stevens John).

Honorable mention for feature photography (two awards to Lisa Stevens John).

Honorable mention for sports photography (two awards to Matthew Friedrichs).

Honorable mention for newspaper photo spread (Lisa Stevens John).

Commenting has been disabled for this item.