Archive for Wednesday, December 6, 2000


December 6, 2000

Area student to sing at KSU

A Kansas State University student from Leavenworth will be among vocalists at university commencement ceremonies Friday and Saturday. David Wood, a junior in applied music, will be the vocalist for the College of Arts and Sciences.

Students named to ho`s Who`

These area students are included in the 34th annual edition of Who`s Who Among American High School Students, 1999-2000.

From Tonganoxie: Brad Barker, Ronnie D. Crook, John J. Daniels, Hannah A. Davoren, Jessica Elliott, Michael Graveman, Tracy Harcar, Samantha Hassinger, Ryan Hatfield, Stephanie A. Larson, Clyde B. May, Bryan Meyer, Elizabeth Nemeth, Jennifer L. Schmitz, Erin Shannon, Jacob Sledd, Jessica Sturgeon, Eric C. VanDyke and Mindy Winterringer.

From Basehor: Amy Breuer, Laurel Burchfield, Jennifer Farr, Bridget Hampton, Andrea D. Herbison, Sarah Jump, Heather Martley, Jonathan R. McClure, Michelle Meyer, James Pinick, Emily Smith and Lisa Woody.

From Linwood: Derrick Betts and Ebon Lee.

From McLouth: Amanda Bailey, Ryan Bailey, Kristin Rome and Heather Trinkle.

College names honor roll

The following area students were named to the honor roll for the 2000-2001 school year at Northeast Kansas Technical College in Atchison.

Computer Aided Drafting: Patrick Delavan, Leavenworth.

Computer Repair Technology: Michael Furse, Tonganoxie.

Paralegal: Kathie Whaley, Leavenworth.

Practical Nursing: Christine Brosa, McLouth.

Auto Technology: Nicholas Leon, Leavenworth.

Students nominate teachers

Several area teachers have been selected by their former students for the sixth edition of "Who`s Who Among America`s Teachers."

These teachers were chosen:

From Tonganoxie: Pam Arevalo, Chris Herron, Brenda Meyer and Larry Percy, all Tonganoxie High School; Marilyn Daniels, Michael McClellan and Chris Weller, all Tonganoxie Junior High School; Sharon Stratton, Tonganoxie Elementary School.

From Basehor: Josh Anderson, Kelly Brungardt, Steven Costa, James Sharp and Kevin Suther, all Basehor-Linwood High School; Victoria Davids, Basehor Elementary School; and Tina Sinclair, Prairie Center Elementary School.

From Linwood: Shelia Blume, Stony Point North Elementary School; Bianca Elliott, Lansing High School; James Sharp, Basehor-Linwood High School; Victoria Tate, Robert E. Clark Middle School; and Lisa Terrell, Bonner Springs High School.

From McLouth: Alexander Browning, Haskell Indian Nations University; Mary Levi-Mehl, Williamstown Elementary School; and Anke Wells, Seaman High School.

Students who are listed in "Who`s Who Among American High School Students" or "The National Dean`s List" were asked to nominate the one teacher from their academic career who made a difference in their lives by helping shape their values, inspired interest in a subject or challenged them to strive for excellence.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.