Archive for Wednesday, December 27, 2000

News Briefing

December 27, 2000

Admissions ban lifted at area nursing home

The state has lifted a ban on admissions at Edwardsville Convalescent Center.

According to information from the Kansas Department of Health and Environment, a followup inspection at the care center showed that problems at the center had been corrected.

The ban came after KDHE inspectors visited the center six times in October and found 28 deficiencies. On Oct. 27, the date of the last visit, the center was caring for 43 people.

The center is owned by Beverly Enterprises.

Help for veterans available in area

A representative from the Kansas Commission on Veterans' Affairs on Jan. 11 will be available in two area towns to help veterans and their dependents with service work.

The representative will be in Atchison at 9 a.m. at the Atchison Senior Center, 504 Kansas Ave., and in Leavenworth at 1 p.m. at the State Rehabilitation Services/Human Resource Building, 515 Limit, Suite 200.

Anyone unable to contact the representative on Jan. 11 may get in touch with the Kansas Commission on Veterans' Affairs, 745 Vermont, Suite 2, Lawrence, 66044-2371, (785) 843-5233.

Students nominated for military schools

Several area students were among those selected by U.S. Rep. Jim Ryun to compete for appointments to the U.S. Air Force Academy, the U.S. Military Academy and the U.S. Naval Academy.

Student nominated from the area are:

Naval Academy: Lucas Belford, Leavenworth; and Scott Nelson, Lansing.

Air Force Academy: Edward Brennan, John Sanders, Linda JooHyun Yi and Patricia Williams, all of Leavenworth.

Military Academy: Phillip Brown and Dustin Froelich, both of Lansing.

Tonganoxie man elected LAD officer

A Tonganoxie banker has been elected vice president of Leavenworth Area Develop-ment. Chris Donnelly of First State Bank and Trust was elected last Thursday during a LAD board of directors meeting.

Other officers are Dan Gutshall, president, and John Orndorff, treasurer.

LAD is a private non-profit corporation dedicated to the growth and development of Leavenworth County. Gregg Kaaz, was elected to the board at the LAD annual meeting in November replacing Francis X. Thorne, a charter member of the LAD Board and past president, retiring from the board at the end of the year. Mike Reilly was presented a plaque that recognized his exceptional service as president of LAD in 1999 and 2000.

Because 2001 will be the 20th Anniversary of the creation of LAD, a special logo was adopted and will be used for a number of special events planned for 2001. LAD will recognize one of its founding and longtime members each month starting in January to celebrate the 20th anniversary.

The board also welcomed the new presidents of the Basehor Chamber of Commerce, Susan Guy, and Tonganoxie Chamber of Commerce, Bill Grant.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.