Archive for Wednesday, January 12, 2000

Wrestlers winning as tourney nears

January 12, 2000

After a tough early schedule, the Tonganoxie wrestling team looks ready to dominate opposition.

The team improved to 4-4, winning three of four duals this week.

At Immaculata last Thursday, the Chieftains beat the home team 59-15 before losing to Basehor-Linwood 46-27.

Monday at Oskaloosa, Tonganoxie beat Oskaloosa and Perry-Lecompton.

Bill DeWitt said he was pleased with the team's performance the past two weeks.

Basehor-Linwood, Hiawatha, Horton and Santa Fe Trail were probably the toughest teams on the schedule, DeWitt said. Tonganoxie was in competition with Hiawatha and Basehor before losing each of those matches.

The wins should boost the team's confidence as it prepares for the Randy Starcher Memorial Wrestling Tournament. Lansing, Bishop Ward, Atchison, Wellsville, Horton, Basehor-Linwood, Burlingame and Oskaloosa wrestlers will compete with Tonganoxie wrestlers for individual medals and team awards.

"It's a smaller tournament, but it's a good tournament," DeWitt said.

Atchison, which won the tournament last year, should be the favorite again, he said. Tonganoxie placed fifth last year.

"I would expect to do a lot better this year," DeWitt said.

The dual Monday at Oskaloosa was the team's last competition for the week. They have all week to practice and prepare for the tournament, which can't hurt.

"After a long week of practice, they look forward to getting out on a Saturday, especially in our own gym," DeWitt said.


Tonganoxie 56, Oskaloosa 12
103 Bruce Walker pinned Robby Chaney
112 Lance Thompson won by forfeit
119 Josh Ferris pinned Brian Buttram
125 both teams open
130 Curtis Newman 12, Josiah Fuerbacher 9 (decision)
135 both teams open
140 Willy Altman18, Jeremy Hesston 2 (technical fall)
145 Steve Adcox won by forfeit
152 Pat Weyer pinned Joe Stinnett
160 Andrew Miller pinned by Mike Cope
171 Chuck Riddle pinned by Larry Subelka
189 Zach Subelka pinned Matt Faler
215 Chris Calovich pinned Robert Smith
216 Tony Miller pinned Mike Collins

Tonganoxie 42, Perry-Lecompton 31
103 Walker pinned Luke Johnson
112 Thompson pinned Bobby April
119 Ferris 9, Clifton Sanford 11 (decision)
125 both teams open
130 Newman pinned Austin Breuninger
135 Mike Woods (PL) won by forfeit
140 Altman won by forfeit
145 Adcox 3, Sam Bonham 11 (major decision)
152 Weyer pinned by Dusty Ingethron
160 Miller pinned by Joe Corcoran
171 Riddle pinned by Aaron Reinhardt
189 Subelka won by forfeit
215 Calovich pinned Matt Wissman
216 Miller pinned Pat Ketter

Tonganoxie 59, Immaculata 15
103 Walker pinned Brian Heintzelman
112 Thompson won by forfeit
119 Ferris won by forfeit
125 both teams open
130 Newman 3, Brian Kelley 10 (decision)
135 Tom Turner (Immac) won by forfeit
140 Altman 15, Matt Hessenflow 0 (technical fall)
145 Adcox pinned Jon Cordt
152 Mike Andrews won by forfeit
160 Miller pinned by Will Vernon
171 Riddle won by forfeit
189 Subelka pinned Kris Wright
215 Calovich pinned Donnis Kiska
216 Miller won by forfeit

Basehor-Linwood 46, Tonganoxie 27
103 Walker 6, Dustin McHenry 1 (decision)
112 Thompson pinned Steve Forth
119 Ferris pinned by Tim Morgan
125 Kevin Elder (BL) won by forfeit
130 Newman pinned by Andy Morgan
135 Buddy Bowen (BL) won by forfeit
140 Altman 4, Luke Scott 9 (decision)
145 Adcox pinned by Matt Walker
152 Andrews 5, John Eisman 8 (decision)
160 Miller pinned by Brandon Buck
171 Riddle 7, Jacob Bateson 15 (major decision)
189 Subelka pinned by Joe Johnson
215 Calovich pinned Lance Quimby
216 Miller pinned Matt Lucas

Commenting has been disabled for this item.