Archive for Wednesday, January 10, 2001

County officials sworn in

January 10, 2001

Leavenworth County officials who were elected in November were sworn into office Monday during ceremonies at the Justice Center.

But only one new face county commissioner Joe Daniels Jr. was among the group of seven who took the oath of office. Daniels defeated incumbent Wayne Eldridge last November in a bid for the Third District seat on the commission.

Daniels has worked in county government for a number of years, most recently in the health department.

"I feel like I know almost everyone in the room. There's a good possibility that in the four years to come I'll be looking to you for help and guidance and I know I'll be getting it," Daniels said, eliciting laughter from the crowd gathered for the ceremonies.

Following a reception, Daniels joined fellow commissioners Bob Adams and Don Navinsky for some housekeeping duties both official and unofficial.

Daniels pulled two of Eldridge's name plates from his desk drawer. A county staff member made a computer-generated name plate for Daniels that he'll use until his arrives on Thursday.

Commissioners also elected Navinsky as their chairman; agreed to keep hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, with agenda meetings set for Monday and Thursday; decided to seek bids for legal publications in newspapers; and decided to retain the banks in the county as the official depositories for county funds.

Commissioners said they would wait until next year to reapportion any county commission districts. That way, they can use population information generated in the 2000 U.S. Census.

At the request of Daniels, the commission decided to delay until Thursday a decision on pay increases for elected county officials.

"I don't know what the budget looks like this year," he said. "I'd like to see what would be appropriate."

Daniels said he would review some documents and would be prepared by Thursday for discussion and a decision.

These officials also took the oath of office on Monday: Adams, who was re-elected to represent the Second District on the county commission; Sheriff Herb Nye; Janice Young, county treasurer; Linda Scheer, county clerk; Stacey Driscoll, county appraiser; and Frank Kohl, county attorney.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.