Archive for Wednesday, January 24, 2001

Candidates vie for seats on boards, city councils

January 24, 2001

Even though several candidates filed at the last minute for Tonganoxie City Council and school board seats, no primary election will be necessary.

By the filing deadline at noon Tuesday, five Tonganoxie residents had filed for three open seats on the city council. More than six candidates would have prompted a primary. The general election will be conducted on April 3.

City council candidates are Jonathan Boone, incumbent Kathy Graveman, Steve Gumm, incumbent Ray Usher and Emmett Wetta.

Five district residents have filed to run for the three Tonganoxie school board openings.

In District 4, Francie Campbell and Darlyn Hansen have filed.

In District 5, Phil Weide, a board member currently representing District 4, has filed.

And in District 6, incumbent Bob DeHoff has filed.

At USD 458, the following district residents have filed to run for the Basehor-Linwood school board:

District 4 has Ronald Owen, Michael Mustain and Mark Davis filing.

District 5 shows filings by Warren Kennedy, Ronald Grover, Douglas Bittel and Patrick Jeannin.

In District 6, Christopher Claflin and Claud Guidry have filed.

The mayor's race in Basehor has seen four filings.

Incumbent mayor John Pfannenstiel has filed for the position, as have Bill Hooker, Randy Cunningham and Dennis Nichols.

Filing for seats on Basehor City Council are Victor Ziegler, Julian Espinoza and Joseph Scherer.

In McLouth, which has two city council positions opening, incumbents Dan Courtney and Dean Lasher have filed to run again. Jim Schonherr has also filed.

Glenn Weer, mayor, has filed to run for the position of mayor again. There are no other filings.

The McLouth school district has three positions opening.

In District 4, John Rome and Doug Walbridge have filed.

In District 5, Don Edmonds has filed. And in District 6, Mitchell Campbell and George Swisher have filed.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.