Archive for Wednesday, March 14, 2001

News Briefing

March 14, 2001

Chamber sponsoring prayer breakfast

The annual Mayor's Prayer Breakfast will be at 7:30 a.m. Tuesday.

The event, sponsored by the Tonganoxie Chamber of Commerce, will be at First Congregational Church, 303 E. Fourth, Tonganoxie. Everyone is welcome. The breakfast is sponsored by the Tonganoxie Chamber of Commerce.

Basehor AA Group sets daily meetings

The Basehor AA Group has set a meeting schedule at 14606 State Avenue.

Meetings will be each week at: 7:30 p.m. Sunday (open); at 7 p.m. Monday (closed); at 8 p.m. Tuesday (Alanon); at 7 p.m. Wednesday (closed); at 7 p.m. Friday (closed) and at 10 a.m. Saturday (open).

For more information, call (913) 724-5172.

Basehor candidates to meet at forum

The Basehor Chamber of Commerce will sponsor a "Meet the Candidates" night at 7 p.m. March 26.

The event will be in the meeting room of the Basehor-Linwood school district offices, 115th Street and Parallel Road.

Candidates for mayor, city council and Positions 4, 5 and 6 on the Basehor-Linwood school board have been invited to participate. Mayoral candidates are Bill Hooker and John Pfannenstiel. Candidates for city council are Julian Espinoza, Joseph Scherer, Robert Moore and Victor Ziegler. Candidates for the school board are Michael Mustain and Ronald L. Owen for Position 4; Douglas Bittel and Patrick A. Jeannin for Position 5; and Christopher Claflin and Claude Guidry for Position 6.

St. Patrick's Day Parade set Saturday

The 14th annual St. Patrick's Day Parade is set for 10 a.m. Saturday in downtown Tonganoxie.

The parade route begins at the swimming pool, heads south to Fourth Street, then west to Church Street. Entries are welcome on the day of the parade. No fees are charged.

At the conclusion of the parade, chapter AT of P.E.O. will host a lunch of corned-beef and cabbage or stew, as well as desserts. Lunch is until 2 p.m. at First Congregational Church, 303 E. Fourth.

Drainage directors up for election

Directors of the Big Stranger Drainage District will be elected during the April 3 general election.

Three directors, who will serve four-year terms, will be elected. Anyone wanting to be a candidate must submit a petition by March 23 to the Leavenworth County clerk. Five qualified electors must sign the petition. All directors must own land in the district and live in Kansas.

For information, call the clerk's office, (800) 250-2057.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.