Archive for Wednesday, May 2, 2001

4-H Foundation awards scholarships

May 2, 2001

The third annual meeting of the Leavenworth County 4-H Foundation met Saturday night.

The event was held in the newly rebuilt administration building at the county fairgrounds.

Bill New, a longtime 4-H supporter, talked to the group. New said that 4-H was a very modern organization that had kept up with the times. He noted that 4-H does not discriminate against anyone because of race, religion or gender. He reminded the group that 4-H in this country would celebrate its 100th birthday in 2002.

Moreover, New said, the first 4-H group in Kansas was started in Leavenworth County in 2005.

On display were photo albums and newspaper clippings showing 4-H members and events from as far back as the 1930s.

Jennifer Gibbens gave an excellent slide presentation, telling about her IFYE ambassador trip to Austria.

Foundation board members are, Donna Wiley, Lawrence, president; David Todd, Easton, first vice president; Earl Parsons, Tonganoxie, second vice president; Joseph Wood, Leavenworth treasurer; Janice McCue, Lawrence, secretary;, Scotty Brezgiel, Leavenworth, Denzel Gibbens, Tonganoxie, Loris New, Toganoxie, and Dan Yates, Bonner Springs.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.