Archive for Wednesday, May 23, 2001

THS Class of 2001 awarded numerous scholarships

May 23, 2001

Members of the Tonganoxie High School Class of 2001 who won local scholarships are:

Beatty Valedictory Award: Julia Ferguson, David Gepner, Kristina Ladas, Matthew Needham, Kyle Rodell and Darren Welch.

Class of 2000 Scholarship: Aaron Knipp and Ashley Underwood.

Community National Bank Scholarship: Kristina Ladas, Matthew Needham.

Don Conrad Scholarship: Patrick Berry.

Anna Mary Doege Scholarship: Kyle Wedel.

Eastern Star Scholarship: Taylor Flewelling.

First State Bank Scholarship: Adria Lenon and Aubrey Mikijanis, alternate Sarah Zishka.

J.W. Grinter Memorial Scholarship: Jessica Elliott, alternate Joshua Reischman.

William "Buck" Knipp Memorial Scholarship: Joshua Reischman.

Robert Kolman and Raymond Sutton Memorial Scholarship: Anthony Miller, alternate Rachel Johnston.

Foster Laming Scholarship: Melissa Norman and Mark Walters.

Rosalie Lorance Nursing Scholarship: Shelli Partridge.

Marie McDaniel Scholarship: Elizabeth Simanowitz, alternate Luke Manson.

Miller-Peruvian Connection Scholarship: Marissa Stephenson and Bryce Cooper.

Virgil I. Morey Scholarship: Brian Welsh.

Mutual Savings Association Scholarship: Erin Jones, alternate Becky Ottens.

PEO Scholarship (Chapter AT): Scott Breuer, alternate Kristin Korb.

PEO Scholarship (Chapter HS): Kelly Gibbens, alternate Karysteen Ingerson.

PTA Scholarship: Kyle Rodell, alternate Amanda Zishka.

Earl and Agnes Parsons Scholarship: Meghann Rodgers.

Jon Quarles Memorial Scholarship: Nicole Curran.

Ridgeway Scholarship: Jacob Hoffhines, alternate Jacob Sledd.

Florence Seeley Riford Academic Scholarship: Julia Ferguson, David Gepner, Mark Gepner and Darren Welch.

Dollie Scheller Scholarship: Maggie Kristine Bailey, alternate Ashley VanBuskirk.

Bill Seymour Scholarship: Ashley Mikijanis.

Dusty Smith Memorial scholarship: Ryan Lowe.

Stage Band Instrumental Music Scholarship: Joe Thompson.

Student Council Scholarship: Rachel Clark and Ryan Hatfield.

Tonganoxie Civic Club Scholarship: Amelia Earhart and Kimberly Larson.

THS Alumni Association Scholarship: Kirstin Korb and Sheila Partridge, alternate Jacob Hoffhines.

THS Class of 1976 Scholar-ship: Harry James Walker III.

Raymond and Marian Williams Scholarship: Ronnie Crook.

Terry Wyrick Scholarship: Rebecca Mills.

Each year the Kansas Board of Regents acknowledges graduates of Kansas high schools who have completed a college preparatory curriculum. These Tonganoxie High School graduates received this recognition:

Chris Breedlove, Bryce Cooper, Jessica Elliott, Julia Ferguson, Dave Gepner, Mark Gepner, Joe Holek, Kristin Korb, Kristina Ladas, Kim Larson, Adria Lenon, Ashley Mikijanis, Aubrey Mikijanis, Rebecca Mills, Matthew Needham, Kyle Rodelll, Meghann Rodgers, Marissa Stephenson, Joseph Stimach, Ashley Van Buskirk, Mark Walters, Darren Welch and Brian Welsh.

Other awards announced at Saturday's graduation ceremony include:

Marissa Stephenson and Jacob Hoffhines received the Kansas State High School Activities Association Citizenship Award. Each year the high school faculty votes on two students, taking into consideration their respect for country, responsibility for improving school and community and reverence for life.

Darren Welch received the Kansas State University Math and Science award. Each year, KSU recognizes outstanding students in math and science in each graduating class in Kansas. The students are selected by the math and science departments.

Julia Ferguson, Dave Gepner, Mark Gepner, Kristina Ladas, Kimberly Larson, Marissa Stephenson and Darren Welch, who received State of Kansas Scholars awards, based on high performance on the ACT college entrance exam and cumulative grade-point averages.

The class of 2001 has been awarded more than $293,000 in scholarships from outside sources. Students who have been awarded outside scholarships are:

Mike Andrews: wrestling scholarship, Neosho Community College.

Maggie Bailey: 4-H Foundation scholarship, Leavenworth County 4-H Foundation.

Patrick Berry: academic scholarship, Johnson County Community College.

Bryan Breshears: football scholarship, Fort Scott Community College.

Julia Ferguson: dean's tuition scholarship, Vision tuition scholarship, St. Louis University; Most Valuable Girl Scholarship, Leavenworth Elks Lodge.

Taylor Flewelling: dance team scholarship, Cowley County Community College.

Rachel Clark: activities scholarship, band scholarship, Kansas State University.

Bryce Cooper: Presidential Scholarship, Timothy Day award, Manhattan Christian College; Kansas Christian Teen Scholarship, Kansas Christian Teen Convention.

Ronnie Crook: football scholarship, Scholar's Day Award, St. Mary College.

Dave Gepner: Kelce Scholarship, Achievement Scholarship, engineering scholarship, Kansas State University.

Mark Gepner: Medalion Scholarship, Engineering scholarship, Kansas State University.

Dustin Guthrie: judging team scholarship, Fort Scott Community College.

Joey Holek: football scholarship, St. Mary College.

Erin Jones: Presidential Scholarship, Kansas City Kansas Community College.

Kristina Ladas: Foundation Scholarship, Kansas State University.

Kim Larson: Freshman Honor Scholarship, Endowment scholarship, University of Kansas.

Ryan Lowe: football scholarship, Hutchinson Community College.

Luke Manson: regional scholarship, American Musical and Dramatic Academy.

Ashley Mikijanis: Vashti Newman Scholarship, Cushing Hospital.

Tony Miller: football scholarship, Fort Scott Community College.

Rebecca Mills: Presidential Scholarship, Baker University.

Matthew Needham: Presidential Scholarship, Baker University; Target Scholarship, Target Corporation.

Sheila Partridge: Celebration of Excellence Scholarship, Connection Award, Morningside College.

Shelli Partridge: Pulliam Scholarship, Baker University.

Ashley Robertson: Presidential Scholarship, Kansas City Kansas Community College.

Josh Reischman: rodeo and agriculture scholarship, Pratt Community College.

Roger Robison: football scholarship, Fort Scott Community College.

Kyle Rodell: Academic scholarship, Kansas State University; Timothy Scholarship, Manhattan Christian College.

Meghann Rodgers: Presidential Scholarship, Kansas City Kansas Community College.

Jacob Sledd: football scholarship, honors scholarship, St. Mary College.

Marissa Stephenson: Watkins Leadership Award, University of Kansas.

Ashley Van Buskirk: Presidential Scholarship, Kansas City Kansas Community College.

Jimmy Walker: football scholarship, Fort Scott Community College.

Kyle Wedel: academic scholarship, Kansas State University.

Darren Welch: Carmas-Next Scholarship, Illinois Institute of Technology.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.