Archive for Wednesday, October 17, 2001

Nominations sought for awards

October 17, 2001

The Conservation Awards Program will again be held in Leavenworth County, according to Sy Nyhart, county extension agent for agriculture, who chairs a committee to select candidates for awards.

"This program is being sponsored by the agricultural committee of the Kansas Bankers Association," Nyhart said.

Last year, awards were made to these Leavenworth County residents: Bob and Tim Forge, Leavenworth; L.J. Milleret Family, Linwood; Walter Sharp Jr., Leavenworth; and the B.J. Wedel family, Tonganoxie.

The purpose of the program is to stimulate a greater interest in the conservation of the agricultural resources of Kansas by giving recognition to those farmers and landowners who have made outstanding progress in the establishment of soil and water conservation on their farms. Included in the awards program are a soil conservation award and a windbreak award.

Points to be considered in selecting soil conservation award winners include use of land according to its capabilities; completeness of farm plan applied; balance of farm enterprise; quality of conservation work done and maintenance of practices; and special practices unique to the farming operation.

The windbreak award considers windbreaks that provide protection from damaging winds for residential (or other structures) areas, livestock, or fields. Windbreaks should be a minimum of three years old. Points to be considered in selecting award winners include windbreak design, management, location, density and length.

Nominations can be made by anyone in the county. They should be sent by Oct. 29 to Nyhart, 500 Eisenhower, Suite 103, Leavenworth, 66048.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.