Archive for Wednesday, September 19, 2001

News makers

Area HS seniors selected for KU honors; Univ. of Kansas names summer graduates

September 19, 2001

Area high school seniors selected for KU honors

Students from 16 Kansas high schools will be honored Tuesday, Sept. 25, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and the KU Endowment Association.

The students, seniors from Douglas, Jefferson and Leavenworth counties, will be named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 7 p.m. program and reception at the Lied Center, KU's west campus, 15th and Iowa.

Angela Lumpkin, dean of the School of Education, will speak. Alumni Association representatives Jennifer Mueller, director of student programs, and Carolyn Barnes, director of the Kansas Honors Program, are in charge of award presentations.

Since 1971, the program has honored 79,500 students in the top 10 percent of the Kansas high school senior classes.

Area honorees include:

Basehor-Linwood High SchoolBriana Barron, Lauren Buckner, Kacie Ellis, Kelleigh Gorup, Jake Hills, Justin Ishmael, Jessica Kelley, Veronica Miller, Joshua Ney, Kerri Park, Eric Peeler and Jennifer Pettibon.

Lansing High SchoolKelly Barry, Sarah Church, Melissa Coots, Christopher Drake, Jennifer Hartman, Megan Hauver, Chad Hendrix, Kelsea Lake, Megan Lehnherr, Katherine Phillips, Anthony Richards, Kevin Riese, Amanda Riester, Tyler Swift and Jessica Woods.

McLouth High SchoolSherri Braksick, Katy Cook, Tiffany Cook, Jodi Kitterman and Tanisha Trackwell.

Pleasant Ridge High SchoolJoshua Beying, Justine Irvine, Courtney Moore, Sarah Pierron and Monica Polli.

Tonganoxie High School Denise Gibbens, Bryan Gurss, Melissa High, Andrea Korb, Sarah Mages, Sarah Melchior, Nancy Milleret, Alicia Stauch, Sarah Subelka, Kerilyn Walker and Ashley Weller.

University of Kansas names summer graduates
More than 800 students received degrees from the University of Kansas after the 2001 summer session, according to KU Registrar Richard C. Morrell, who announced the names of the new graduates.

Because KU conducts only one formal commencement ceremony each year, many of these graduates will return to take part in commencement exercises on May 19, 2002.

The graduates include:

Basehor Katrina Nichole Bartkoski, bachelor's degree in business communications.

Easton Ann Bernadette Heintzelman, master's in nursing.

Fort Leavenworth Deborah Elsie Griswold, doctorate in education and special education.

Lansing Aaron Matthew Cornett, bachelor's in business communications; and Victoria L. Davids, master's in education curriculum.

Leavenworth Kristin Diane Campbell, bachelor's in occupational therapy; Douglas O. Cruce Jr., public administration; John Michael Mitsdarfer, master's in geology; Michelle L. Morandy, bachelor's in health information management; Troy D. Ramirez, bachelor's in architectural studies; and Susan E. Suwalsky, master's in philosophy.

Tonganoxie James Edward Shannon, bachelor's in civil engineering.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.