Archive for Tuesday, December 24, 2002

Press stymies Chieftain boys in loss

December 24, 2002

Tonganoxie High couldn't handle the pressure Friday at Mill Valley.

The Jags used a press to frustrate the Tonganoxie boys team all night, a defensive scheme MVHS coach Justin Bogart has used often since taking over the new program three years ago. Mill Valley won the Kaw Valley League game, 51-31.

"We didn't know what kind of ball handlers Tonganoxie had," Bogart said. "For the most part, we created some turnovers and at least we created some confusion."

Mill Valley roared to a 20-12 first-quarter lead, but

Tonganoxie stayed in the game in the second period, cutting the lead to seven, 29-22. Then came the second half, and the Jaguars wouldn't let Tonganoxie (2-3 and 1-2) come near the lead. THS junior Joe Calovich, who led the team with eight, scored Tonganoxie's first points of the second half with 2:49 left in the third.

With the win, Mill Valley moved into the break with 3-1 records, both overall and in the KVL.

"Considering all the distractions of finals, they stayed focused like we asked them to be," Bogart said after beating his alma mater. His father, Mike, is the THS principal.

With the 3-1 record, the Jags are excited about their position at the break.

In the visitors' locker room, though, a more somber mood prevailed.

"We're not very good -- yet," THS coach David Walker said. "We're not fundamentally sound and that's my fault."

Mill Valley's David Woods had a game-high 17 points in the win, while seven other players also scored for the Jags. Ryan Draper had eight, while Sean Scott notched seven.

Behind Calovich, Tonganoxie's Chad Turner chipped in seven, while Shane Howard had five points in the loss.

Tonganoxie (2-3, 1-2) 12 10 4 5 -- 31
Mill Valley (3-1, 3-1) 20 9 14 8 -- 51

Tonganoxie -- Shane Howard 5, Chad Turner 7, Jon Gripka 4, Justin Walker 4, Jacob Walker 1, Billy Baska 2, Joe Calovich 8.

Mill Valley -- Sean Scott 7, David Woods 17, Brandon Smith 1, Ryan Draper 8, Jake Summerlin 5, Kyle Deberg 2, Jacob Eaton 8, Tyson Corley 3.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.