Archive for Wednesday, July 10, 2002

Attorney nominated for court

July 10, 2002

Keyta Kelly, Leavenworth County's county counselor at large, is in a pool of 18 people nominated for the Kansas Supreme Court.

Usually, applicants nominate themselves, according to Ron Keefover in the state Office of Judicial Administration.

"Typically what happens is someone wants to be on the state supreme court so they fill out a form asking to be nominated," he said.

A nine-member Supreme Court Nominating Commission will interview the applicants on July 18 and 19. The commission will submit three names to Gov. Bill Graves, who will has 60 days to make an appointment to fill a vacancy created by the retirement of Justice Edward Larson. The judge's retirement is effective Sept. 4.

In addition to Kelly, these applicants will be interviewed:

Attorneys: G. Gordon Atcheson, Overland Park; Terry Eugene Beck, Topeka; Richard Dale Greene, Wichita; David Russell Hills and M. Warren McCamish, both of Lake Quivira, Ward Loyd, Garden City; Lawton R. Nuss, Salina.

Court of appeals judges: Robert L. Gernon, Lawrence, Robert Jay Lewis Jr. and Christel E. Marquardt, both of Topeka; and George Joseph Pierron Jr., Olathe.

District court judges: Steve A. Leben, Fairway; Marla J. Luckert, Topeka; Thomas Edward Malone, Wichita; Edwin Rodney Smith, Ottawa; Thomas M. Tuggle, Concordia; and Merlin Glenn Wheeler, Emporia.

The nominating commission is a nine-member non-partisan panel consisting of and equal number of lawyers and non-lawyers from each of the congressional districts, plus a lawyer member who is elected by attorneys statewide to serve as commission chairman.

Current members include:

Attorneys, Richard C. Hite, Wichita, chairman; Thomas E. Wright, Topeka; Thomas J. Bath Jr., Overland Park, and Lee H. Woodard, Wichita. (The attorney representative for the fifth position will not be known until ballots are counted from a recent nominating commission election conducted in the First Congressional District.)

Non-lawyers: Debbie L. Nordling, Hugoton; James S. Maag, Topeka; Suzanne (Sue) S. Bond, Overland Park; and Dennis L. Greenhaw, Independence. Non-lawyer members of the commission are appointed by the governor.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.