Archive for Wednesday, March 20, 2002

News Makers

March 20, 2002

THS graduate earns degree from JCCC

Paul Berry, a 1999 Tonganoxie High School graduate, has received his applied science degree in computer information systems and his vocational certificate in mainframe programmer/analyst from Johnson County Community College. Berry was a member of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society and graduated with honors. He is continuing his studies at JCCC this semester and will begin classes next fall at Central Christian College of the Bible in Moberly, Mo., where he will pursue an associate of arts degree in ministry. Berry is the son of John and Jane Berry.

Area Cadette Girl Scouts receive Silver Award

Several area Girl Scouts have been presented with the Girl Scout Silver Award, the highest achievement for Cadette Girl Scouts.

The award recognizes the efforts of girls ages 11 through 14 in skill building, leadership, career exploration, self-development and service. These girls are winners:

Paula Prosser, Paige Robinson, Marsha Cox, Stephanie Reynolds and Elizabeth Higbee, Tonganoxie; Heather Roberts, Basehor; Amanda Elliott, Easton; Lauren Riddle and Caitlin Jackson, Fort Leavenworth; and Jessi Whittamore, Lansing.

In addition, Jacqueline Snow, a senior at Immaculata High School in Leavenworth, has won the Beth Winters Memorial Scholarship. It is presented annually to one Senior Girl Scout. It awards $1,500 and is renewable each year of undergraduate study.

Snow is a 12-year veteran of Girl Scouting and a member of Troop 5483, Service Unit 660.

JCCC students named to academic honor rolls

Several area residents have been named to honor rolls at Johnson County Community College.

Students on the President's List completed 12 or more credit hours and maintained a 4.0 grade-point average. Students on the Dean's List completed 12 or more credit hours and maintained a grade-point average between 3.5 and 4.0.

Dean's List

Kevin Edward Klamm, Basehor; David M. Reeves, Fort Leavenworth; Nicole Marie Miller, Lansing; Erick David Fernengel, Barbara Ann Kirby, David Paul McGlothlin and Amanda Marie Nye, all of Leavenworth; and Paul E. Berry, Jennifer Joy Dunlap, Teresa Marie Hill, David Michael McMahon and Ruby L. Scott, all of Tonganoxie.

President's List

Rinda Glee Cooper and Justin Matthew Reeves, both of Basehor; Nicole Heather Chaikin, Lansing; Shane Alan Groover, Sarah Ruth Moulden and Rebecca Susan Webster, all of Leavenworth; and Robert Eugene Conroy, Jordan Douglas Smith and Warren Gerald Vincent III, all of Tonganoxie.

Kansas State University students plan open house

A Kansas State University student from Leavenworth is among members of KSU's All-University Open House Coordinating Committee.

Committee members help plan and organize K-State's annual Open House. This year's event will be 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. April 6 on the KSU campuses in Manhattan and Salina.

Adria Edmonds, a fifth-year senior in architecture, is a graduate of Lansing High School, and represents the College of Architecture, Planning and Design on the committee.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.