Archive for Wednesday, October 8, 2003

THS awarded regionals; volleyball in Lansing

October 8, 2003

For the second consecutive year, a Class 4A cross country regional will take place in Tonganoxie, while Lansing was chosen for the local volleyball substate tournament.

The Kansas State High School Activities Association picked the sites last week.

Last year, THS was the site for both events, but volleyball won't be played in Phil Lobb Gymnasium.

Although a start time hasn't been set for volleyball, both events will be Oct. 25. The girls cross country race will begin at 2 p.m. and the boys race will be at 2:30 p.m.

Teams competing with Tonganoxie in the regional meet here are Atchison, Baldwin, Basehor-Linwood, De Soto, Eudora, Fort Scott, Bishop Ward, Piper, Sumner Academy, Prairie View, Lansing, Louisburg, Osawatomie and Spring Hill. Other regional sites are El Dorado, Larned and Topeka-Hayden.

Of the eight teams in the volleyball substate, only three -- Eudora, Sumner and Bishop-Ward, are non-Kaw Valley League teams.

KVL members Basehor-Linwood, De Soto, Piper, Lansing and Tonganoxie will compete in the substate at Lansing. Bonner Springs and Mill Valley will play at Gardner-Edgerton in 5A, Perry-Lecompton, Santa Fe Trail will be in Chapman for another 4A tourney, while Immaculata will compete at McLouth in 2A.

Other 4A sites besides Chapman and Lansing are Anthony (Harper Chaparral), Colby, Hoyt (Royal Valley), Mulvane, Parsons and Spring Hill.

McLouth to host volleyball

McLouth was awarded a postseason tournament with a 2A volleyball tourney.

Jackson Heights, Horton, Immaculata, Troy, Valley Falls, Wathena and Jefferson County North also will compete in the tournament.

The McLouth cross country team will head to Horton for its meet.

The girls meet will begin at 2 p.m. and boys at 2:30 p.m. Oct. 25. Teams competing along with McLouth are Valley Heights, Centralia, Clifton-Clyde, Midway-Denton, Hanover, Highland, Jackson Heights, Horton, St. Xavier (Junction City), Bishop Seabury (Lawrence), Immaculata, Centre (Lost Springs), Onaga, St. Marys, Troy, Valley Falls, Wakefield, Washington, Wathena, Wetmore, White City and Jefferson County North (Winchester). Other 2-1A sites are Dighton, Phillipsburg (Almena-Northern Valley) and Wichita East.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.