Archive for Wednesday, December 8, 2004

THS harriers on all-area squad

December 8, 2004

Andy Kolman and Christy Weller led the Tonganoxie boys and girls cross country teams all season long.

And last Wednesday, the Chieftain runners were rewarded for their successes.

Kolman and Weller were named to the Lawrence Journal-World's all-area cross country teams.

Kolman, a senior on this season's Tonganoxie squad, took first for the third time at this year's Kaw Valley League meet in Leavenworth. Kolman never finished lower than fifth during Tonganoxie's first six races.

Despite a disappointing 10th-place finish at regionals, Kolman bounced back and medaled at state, placing 14th overall.

In her rookie season, Weller gave Chieftain fans a glimpse of the future.

The freshman won her first two races and stayed consistent throughout the year. Weller placed no lower than fifth -- until she placed sixth at regionals. Weller's exciting season, for all intents and purposes, ended just two days before the state meet when she injured her knee during a gym class activity.

Weller ran on a well-wrapped knee, but severe pain forced Weller to bow out of the meet halfway through the race.

Baldwin coach Mike Spielman was named coach of the year. Spielman helped the Bulldogs to their seventh consecutive boys crown at Wamego.

Joining Kolman on the boys team were Baldwin's Sam Hinton, Keith Cowart, Zac Towns, Chris Elniff, De Soto's Casey Johnson and Wellsville's Nate Whalen.

On the girls side, Baldwin's Kelsey Verhaeghe, Heather Garcia and Madison Shoemaker, Wellsville's Aubrey Poor, Eudora's Brittney Graff, Mill Valley's Kelsey O'Hara and De Soto's Morgan Frehe also were named to the all-area squad.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.