Archive for Wednesday, June 9, 2004

Candidate pool grows as deadline approaches

June 9, 2004

The number of candidates on the Republican side of the race for Third District county commission seat is growing like a field of sunflowers on a bright Kansas day.

As of noon Tuesday, five candidates had filed on the Republican side of the ticket for the seat that represents southern Leavenworth County on the county commission. Joe Daniels Jr. currently holds the post, but he's not seeking a second term.

The filing deadline for county and state offices is noon Thursday.

A primary election will be held Aug. 3, and the general election is set for Nov. 2.

These Republican candidates have filed for Daniels' seat: Dick Brauer, 17800 Cantrell Rd., Linwood; Ken Rahjes, 314 E. Eighth, Tonganoxie; Jon Gallion, 15756 Donahoo Rd., Basehor; Marvin Torneden, 22912 Linwood Rd., Linwood; and Dean Oroke, 17395 Chieftain Rd., Tonganoxie.

Oroke previously served a four-year term as a county commissioner, from 1984 to 1988. He also ran unsuccessfully in 1988 as a Republican; in 1992 as a Democrat; and in 1996 as a Republican, according to the county clerk's office.

Jerry Willburn, 20130 Douglas, Tonganoxie, is the lone candidate on the Democratic Party's side of the race for the Third District county commission position.

In the race for the Second District seat, currently held by Bob Adams, who also is not seeking re-election, one Democrat and two Republicans have filed. Mike "Whiz" Scanlon, 17489 Michals Rd., Leavenworth, has filed as a Democrat, and Arthur D. Davidson, 1705 Thornton, Leavenworth, and Larry Dedeke, 722 Pennsylvania, Leavenworth, both have filed as Republicans.

In other races, Undersheriff Dave Zoellner, 1724 Ottawa, Leavenworth, and Gene Tomrell, 3718 Hughes Rd., Leavenworth, have filed as Democrats to fill Sheriff Herb Nye's position. Nye is not seeking re-election.

Several county officeholders so far are unopposed: County Clerk Linda Scheer, Republican; Register of Deeds Stacy Driscoll, Democrat; County Attorney Frank Kohl, Democrat; and County Treasurer Janice Young, Republican.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.