Archive for Wednesday, March 17, 2004

Chieftains nab votes for all-KVL

March 17, 2004

A 17-5 record never hurts a team's chances for strong representation on an all-league basketball team.

Tonganoxie High School senior Addie Heim and freshman Ali Pistora were named to this year's all-Kaw Valley League team, while senior Katie Jeannin earned honorable mention honors. Heim was the team's leading scorer; Pistora was second.

The KVL all-league selections are not broken into first- and second-team, but rather one team of 12. Coaches then pick additional players for honorable mention recognition.

The team included eight seniors and six juniors. Pistora was the only underclassmen on this year's team.

Joining Heim and Pistora on this year's all-league team were: Allie Heinen, senior, De Soto; Lindsay Boss, junior, Santa Fe Trail; Amy Petty, junior, DHS; Nyse Pinks, senior, Bonner Springs; Alexis Pryor, junior, SFT; Kendra Corley, junior, Mill Valley; Devon Ezell, senior, Immaculata; Alex Jeannin, senior, Basehor-Linwood; Ashley Sanders, senior, Piper; and Emily Vosseler, junior, Imac.

Honorable mention with Jeannin were Kelli Craig, senior, Lansing; and Amanda Wooley, senior, PHS.

Howard named to boys team

Senior Shane Howard was Tonganoxie's lone all-KVL boys selection.

Joining Howard on the all-league team were: Danny McEvoy, Imac; Jacob Eaton, MVHS; Danny Brown, DHS; Leo Criswell, PHS; Damian Young, PHS; David Woods, MV; Matt Scanlon, Imac; Spencer Kennedy, Perry-Lecompton; Jeff Slater, LHS; Toine Barber, BSHS; and Brandon Smith, MV.

Honorable mention selections were: Ryan Brown, De Soto; Jake Carter, Santa Fe Trail; Bill Morehead, Lansing; and Josh Willie, Piper.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.