Archive for Wednesday, November 17, 2004

Teamwork helps ensure success of ‘Annie Get Your Gun’ at THS

November 17, 2004

Steve Harrell's looking forward to directing musicals and plays in the school's future fine arts center.

Last week's Tonganoxie High School's production of "Annie Get Your Gun" went over well in the existing auditorium. During its three-night run, about 500 watched the play, which starred Paula Prosser as Annie Oakley, and Andy Koontz as Frank Butler.

But Harrell, who was technical director of the musical, said setting up the lighting in the auditorium is inconvenient. The stage lights, which are not original to the 40-year-old high school, require a climb up a ladder and a 20-foot-long crawl through a narrow passageway, to adjust for each show.

And, Harrell said, the new fine arts center likely will have a better lighting and sound system, as well as a convenient location for the pit orchestra. Currently the pit band sits at the back of the stage.

Harrell praised the work of those involved in the play, including Chris Delay, director, Joyce Steeby, vocal music director, and Charles VanMiddlesworth, instrumental director.

"We used to hire at least a pianist and a pit player for key parts from KU," Harrell said.

But now VanMiddlesworth takes charge of directing a student band for the performances.

"And Joyce does a fantastic job with the vocal," Harrell said. "The way they put the sound out is fantastic."

These students were involved in the play:

Cast members

Andy Koontz as Frank Butler, Eli Jones as Buffalo Bill Cody, Shadoe Barton as Dolly Tate, Justin Moss as Tommy Keeler, Sarah Larson as Winnie Tate, Jonathan Ferris as Charlie Davenport, Elizabeth Higbee as Faye Wilson, Drew Scates as Mac the Prop Man, Adam Hamby as Chief Sitting Bull, Paula Prosser as Annie Oakley, Krista Jobst as Jessie Oakley, Kirsten Baggett as Nellie Oakley, Jake McGhee as Little Jake, David Hassinger as Running Deer, Rhett Clark as Eagle Feather, Garrett Kelly as Pawnee Bill, Amanda Bixby as Mrs. Sylvia Potter-Porter and Lacy Phelps ad Mrs. Schuyler Adams.

Chorus members

Shawna Berry, Jenna Bradley, Tracie Hileman, Victoria Fort, Tabby Flaherty, Amie Riddle, Rebekah Smith, Erin Malone, Shannon Pulkrabek, Amber Hornback and Michelle Lindsay.

Stage directors

Mollie Osborne, stage manager, and assistants Riley Vogel and Stephanie Lieber.

Technical crew

Jacob Jones, lights, Stephanie Lieber, sound, and Corey Brest and Jacque Jones, set. And these students contributed a minimum of 15 hours of technical support for the production: Erin Malone, Corey Brest and Jacque Jones.

Pit band

Kezia Huseman, Megan Holton, Steven Lundberg, Jeff Everhart, Flor Flores, Nick Dietrich and Noah Fugate.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.