Archive for Wednesday, February 23, 2005

Club fares well at contest

February 23, 2005

Area 4-H youths came home with big awards from the 2005 Horse Panorama.

The event, held Feb. 12 at Rock Springs 4-H Ranch southwest of Junction City, netted a first-place trophy in the hippology competition for the senior group.

Hippology club sponsor Vickie Smith, a Tonganoxie veterinarian, said the senior team, made up of Shannon Smith, Jason Miles, Nicole Allen and Sarah Smith, also placed second in the quiz bowl division.

The senior group's first-place win qualifies the team to compete in hippology and quiz bowl at the American Quarter Horse Congress, scheduled for October in Columbus, Ohio.

Others who participated in the Feb. 12 competition included junior team members Elizabeth Patrick, Destiny Mestagh and Jody Baragary; and intermediate team members Austin Baragary, Lauren Hoge, Rachel Bieniecki and Tayler Miles.

Following are the individual scores compiled during the Feb. 12 competition:


Written test: Nicole Allen, ninth place; Jason Miles, sixth place and Shannon Smith, third place.

Stations: Sarah Smith, eighth place; Shannon Smith, fifth place, and Jason Miles, third place.

Overall individual: Jason Miles, fourth place and Shannon Smith, third place.

Team written test, first place; team stations, second place, and overall team, first place.


Written test: Elizabeth Patrick, ninth place, and Jody Baragary, second place.

Stations: Elizabeth Patrick, 10th place, and Destiny Mestagh, fifth place.

Overall Individual: Elizabeth Patrick, ninth place; Destiny Mestagh, seventh place and Jody Baragary, fifth place.

Team stations, fifth place and overall team, fifth place.


Written Test: Tayler Miles, 10th place; stations, Austin Baragary, first place; overall individual, Austin Baragary, fourth place; team stations, third place, and overall team, fourth place.

Open quiz bowl, Jody Baragary, third place team.

Senior quiz bowl, Leavenworth County, second place team.

Public speaking: Nicole Allen, Shannon Smith and Sarah Smith received blue ribbons.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.