Archive for Wednesday, January 12, 2005

Two new county commissioners take office

January 12, 2005

A changing of the guard took place Monday, as two Leavenworth County Commission members said goodbye to fellow county employees, thanked constituents and welcomed their replacements during a swearing-in ceremony at the Justice Center.

Neither Bob Adams, second district representative, nor Joe Daniels, third district representative, sought re-election in 2004.

Clyde Graeber replaced Adams, and Dean Oroke succeed Daniels. Adams and Daniels took time Monday to say a few parting words before the new commissioners recited their oaths of office.

"Sorry. I'm kind of breaking up a little bit ... but thank you from the bottom of my heart for everything," an emotional Adams said.

"It's been a great ride. I've really enjoyed it."

While more composed, Daniels offered similar thanks to voters and colleagues. He also said Oroke and Graeber are worthy replacements to represent residents in the Second District, encompassing Lansing, Linwood and parts of Leavenworth, and the Third District, which is comprised of Basehor, Tonganoxie and areas in southern Leavenworth County.

"I know the electorate was very smart in (choosing) these individuals," Daniels said.

Both Graeber and Oroke offer years of public service experience and while campaigning in 2004 used those backgrounds to persuade voters to nod their way during the November general election.

Graeber, R-Lansing, is a former Leavenworth mayor and spent 12 years representing the 41st District in the Kansas House of Representatives. Oroke, R-Tonganoxie, represented the Third District on the county commission from 1985 to 1989.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.