Archive for Wednesday, March 15, 2006

Newspaper wins statewide awards

March 15, 2006

Once again, The Mirror is a winner.

Members of The Mirror newspaper staff learned last week that they had earned numerous awards in Kansas Press Association's 2006 Awards of Excellence competition.

The awards will be presented on April 22 in Wichita during KPA's annual convention. This year's competition was judged by members of Arizona Newspaper Association.

"Our staff is really proud of the work they do each week," said Caroline Trowbridge, The Mirror's editor and publisher. "While there are only three of us, we continue to publish exemplary newspapers for our readers -- and, best of all, we have a great time doing it. Lisa Scheller and Shawn Linenberger are two great people, and I'm lucky to work with them."

At the upcoming KPA convention, Trowbridge will take over as president of the statewide newspaper group.

Last month, The Mirror was named the Nation's Best Non-Daily Newspaper in a competition sponsored by Inland Press Association of Chicago. The Mirror took first in its circulation category of 5,000 and fewer in that nationwide contest. That marked the fourth time in the past six years that The Mirror staff earned that honor.

In the statewide contest, The Mirror earned five first-place honors; six second-place awards; nine third-places; and two honorable mentions.

Here's a complete list of The Mirror's awards from Kansas Press Association that will be presented next month:

First places: investigative story; series of stories; youth story; headline writing; and news photo.

Seconds: Web site; government/political story; series of stories; local business story; sports pages; and best use of photos.

Thirds: news story; best front page; editorial pages; feature story; agricultural story; youth story; sports story; headline writing; and feature package.

Honorable mentions: news story; and editorial writing.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.