Archive for Wednesday, March 15, 2006

The Mirror a winner in annual press association contest

March 15, 2006

The Mirror newspaper has earned numerous awards in Kansas Press Association's 2006 Awards of Excellence competition.

The awards will be presented on April 22 in Wichita during KPA's annual convention. This year's competition was judged by members of Arizona Newspaper Association.

At the upcoming convention, Caroline Trowbridge, The Mirror's editor and publisher, will take over as president of the statewide newspaper group.

Last month, The Mirror was named the Nation's Best Non-Daily Newspaper in a competition sponsored by Inland Press Association of Chicago. The Mirror took first in its circulation category of 5,000 and fewer.

Here's a list of The Mirror's awards from Kansas Press Association:

First places:
Investigative story.
Series of stories.
Youth story.
Headline Writing.
News Photo.

Web site.
Government/Political story.
Series of stories.
Local Business story.
Sports pages.
Best Use of Photos.

News story.
Best Front Page.
Editorial Pages.
Feature story.
Agricultural story.
Youth story.
Sports story.
Headline Writing.
Feature Package.

Honorable Mentions:
News story.
Editorial Writing.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.