Archive for Wednesday, March 29, 2006

Mill Valley boys coach top in area

March 29, 2006

The Lawrence Journal-World's All-Area Boys Basketball Team had a touch of Kaw Valley League flavor.

Mill Valley coach Justin Bogart, who led the Jaguars to their first boys state berth in school history, was named Coach of the Year.

Mill Valley went 22-3 and placed fourth in 5A.

Mill Valley senior guard Jack Johnson was a first-team selection, along with Wellsville's Kyle Wright, Eudora's Rodney Spillman and Baldwin's Aaron Hannon.

Second team selections were: senior Kyle DeBerg, Mill Valley; senior Matt Leecy, Ottawa; senior Scott McElvain, De Soto; junior Victor Ojeleye, Ottawa; and senior Jeremy Wright, Baldwin.

McLouth landed two players in the honorable mention ranks: Kevin Stewart and Trevor Keling.

Also earning honorable mention honors were: Mark Abel, Eudora; Austin Bloss, Wellsville; Taylor Burnett, De Soto; Jake Carter, Santa Fe Trail; Gabe Gantz, Perry-Lecompton, Cody Heston, Oskaloosa; Chris Ketter, Perry-Lecompton; Cory McPherson, Perry-Lecompton; Philip Sylvester, Ottawa; and Colin Wright, Wellsville.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.