Archive for Monday, November 20, 2006

Nowasell leads THS soccer selections

November 20, 2006

Tonganoxie earned four spots on this year's all-Kaw Valley League soccer team.

Seniors Zach Mayse and Jake Poterbin and freshman Tyler Woolworth received honorable mention recognition as offensive players, while senior Alex Nowasell was a second-team selection on defense.

Tonganoxie High coach Ken Lott said he thought Nowasell would have been a first-team selection.

"I was a little disappointed that Alex Nowasell didn't get first team, just because of the fact he was selected for all-region, all-area and all-metro," Lott said of other postseason honors he's received. "And he went second team. I was a little frustrated with that."

The second-year THS coach also had this to say about Nowasell: "I would put him against any of the other players who were selected first team."

Lott said coaches might have paid more attention to players of teams with better records than Tonganoxie, which went 1-15-1 on the season. THS finished the season with a 5-2 loss to Eudora in the Class 4-3-2-1A playoffs.

The league's nine coaches selected the all-KVL team. Although the KVL has 10 member schools, nine of them field soccer teams as Santa Fe Trail does not have a team.

Mill Valley, which placed third in Class 5A in this year's state playoffs with a 16-4-1 record, earned nine selections on this season's all-league squad.

Bonner Springs had seven, while Basehor-Linwood and Lansing had six. Piper and Perry-Lecompton secured five spots each, while Immaculata had four. Bishop Ward had two players with postseason honors.

Basehor-Linwood finished the season with a 12-5-1 record after losing in the 4-3-2-1A regional quarterfinals to Shawnee-Maranatha Academy, 3-1. Piper also ended its season in the regional quarterfinals. The Pirates fell to Kansas City Christian, 3-0. KC Christian went on to win the state title.

All-Kaw Valley League team
First team
Austin Knipp Basehor-Linwood
Sean Verbanic Piper
Nate Makovetz Lansing
Josh Grimes Mill Valley
Spencer Nash Mill Valley
Second team
Ryan Sirridge and Stephan Millison, both BLHS; Andy Dick, LHS; Alex Linthicum, Perry; and Zac McCallum, Imac.

Honorable mention
Tanner Bowers and Justin Gripka, both BL; Mark Hicks, Piper; Dominic Moran; Ward; Stephan Herout, Lansing; Megan Elder, Emily Kuen and Brady Roberts, all PLHS; Jason Hoskins, Joey Schmidt and Alex Perica, all Bonner; Tyler Woolworth, Jake Poterbin and Zach Mayse, all THS.

First team
Sam Seaman, BLHS; Josh Robinson, Lansing; Coady Andrews, Mill Valley; and Cody Wente, Imac.
Second team
Dan Kubicki, Piper; Ben Huff, Mill Valley; Clayton McCully, Bonner; and Alex Nowasell, THS.

Honorable Mention
Mitch Mallon, BLHS; Chase Boatwright, Piper; Dominic Garcia, Bishop Ward; Drew Reynolds, Lansing; Ryan Alexander, Mill Valley; Kory Roberts and Jacob Callahan, both PLHS; Alex Barbuto, Imac; Michael Bille, Bonner.

First team
Alex Burton, Lansing.

Second team
Blake Elliot, Mill Valley.

Honorable mention
Bryce Walker, PLHS; and Matt Murrell, BLHS.

First team
Connor Koch, Mill Valley; and Jobie Buehler 0, Bonner.

Honorable mention
Austin Bond, Piper; and Jeremy Keen, Imac.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.