Archive for Wednesday, April 25, 2007

Council members to take seats

April 25, 2007

McLouth's three newly elected city council members will be sworn into office next month.

Incumbent Sharon Lobb Johnson was the top vote-getter in the April general election. She will serve another four year-term when she is sworn in at the end of the next council meeting, slated for May 8.

Newcomers Charles Karmann and Myra Harwood will be sworn in at the next meeting, as well, and will serve terms that don't expire until 2011. Karmann received the second-most votes, while Harwood tied Gerald Sullivan with 124 votes each. After provisional ballots were counted, Harwood earned the nod for the third and final seat.

Karmann and Harwood will replace Kim Hochard and Bob Ryan. Hochard opted not to run for re-election, while Ryan lost his re-election bid.

The race for the three seats initially had eight candidates, but was reduced to six in a primary election.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.