Archive for Wednesday, March 28, 2007

Countdown to Election Day begins

City, school races to be decided

March 28, 2007

Voters on Tuesday will elect city council and school board representatives in Tonganoxie, Linwood and McLouth.

In Tonganoxie, two candidates -- incumbent Dave Taylor and Mike Vestal -- are running for mayor.

Four candidates -- Robert Altenhofen, Paula Crook, Tom Putthoff and incumbent Velda Roberts -- are running to fill two contested spots on Tonganoxie City Council .

The Tonganoxie school board, meanwhile, has four seats to be decided on the ballot Tuesday. A primary in late February narrowed the field to two candidates in each race.

Alan Theno and Diane Truesdell will face-off for Position No. 1, while Kathy Baragary and Craig Lohman are running for Position No. 2. In the Position No. 3 race, Patti Bitler is running against incumbent Leanna Leslie. And in Position No. 7, the at-large seat, Mildred McMillon is squaring off against Bill Weatherford.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday at the Tonganoxie VFW Post Home, 910 E. First St., and Sacred Heart Parish Center, 1100 West Center. Tonganoxie Assistant City Administrator Kathy Bard said, as a general rule of thumb, residents who live north of Fourth Street vote at VFW Hall and those south of Fourth Street vote at Sacred Heart. However, she said residents may find out for sure where they are to vote by calling the Leavenworth County Clerk's Office at (913) 684-0419.


In Linwood, residents will vote for a new mayor and two council seats.

In the mayor's race, Mary Morris and Georgiana Smith are running against each other. Smith ran unsuccessfully during the last election, losing to write-in candidate Steve Campbell by two votes. Smith also served on the council from 1997 to 2005. Morris' husband, Edward Morris, is a current council member in Linwood.

In the City Council race, incumbent Jay Barnard, and Robin Hilt and Delores Leonard are vying for two seats. Leonard also served on the council previously.

Morris is organizing a candidate forum and has asked Bernard and Leonard to assist her. She also has extended an invitation to Smith. As of Tuesday, Morris said she had not able to reach Hilt to extend an invitation to attend but would continue trying.

The forum will be from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. Monday at the Linwood Community Center, Third and Main.

Voting will take place 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday, also at the Community Center.


McLouth had a whopping eight candidates file for City Council earlier this year. The field was trimmed to six with a February primary.

George Bowen Jr., Myra Harwood, Sharon Lobb Johnson, Charles Karmann, incumbent Bob Ryan and Gerald Sullivan are vying for three council seats. Sullivan also served on the council in the 1970s.

In the McLouth school board race, incumbent Dan Evans is running unopposed for Position No. 3, while fellow incumbent James DePriest is running against Ed Courtney for Position No. 1. In Position No. 2, Andy Sullivan is running unopposed as well. He is seeking his first full term. Last April, he replaced Ernie Folsom, who moved to Tonganoxie.

Voting in McLouth will take place from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday at the fire department, 104 W. Lucy.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.