Archive for Wednesday, May 30, 2007

MHS grads collect honors, scholarships

May 30, 2007

Commencement ceremonies for the McLouth High School Class of 2007 were May 19 at the Stan Braksick Sports Complex. The following awards and scholarships were announced:

Co-Valedictorians -- Kylie Campbell and Brett Lundmark.

Bank of McLouth Scholarship -- Amanda Jantz, Rocky Keyes, Jaclyn Lash, Caitlin Mestagh, Ryan Saxton and Arthur Rollins.

Bethel Graham Cook Scholarship -- Amanda Cain, Kylie Campbell, Rocky Keyes, and Brett Lundmark.

McLouth American Legion Auxiliary Scholarship -- Amanda Cain, Rocky Keyes, Caitlin Mestagh and Ryan Saxton.

Nelle L. Wellman Memorial Scholarship -- Amanda Jantz and Dustin Rainey.

Pete Edmonds Memorial Scholarship -- Rocky Keyes and Caitlin Mestagh.

James Petrie Memorial Scholarship -- Dustin Rainey.

Catherine Pierson Memorial Education Scholarship -- Joey Gregory.

Gene Dillard Memorial Scholarship -- Joey Gregory.

Jane Campbell Memorial/PTO Education Scholarship -- Erin Heckard.

McLouth Recreation Scholarship -- Danny Crouse.

F. W. Huston Memorial Scholarship -- Amanda Cain.

Chase Coffin Memorial Scholarship -- Andrew Booth and Dustin Rainey.

Circle S Ranch -- Kylie Campbell, Emily Showalter, and Liz Turner.

George Bogard Memorial Scholarship -- Dustin Rainey.

McLouth Kiwanis Student of the Year and Scholarship -- Amanda Cain.

Farm Bureau Scholarship -- Arthur Rollins.

Scholarships previously awarded to graduating seniors also were announced at the May 19 ceremonies. The scholarships and their recipients included:

Andrew Booth, academic scholarship from Kansas University; Samantha Cady-Gregory, academic scholarship from DeVry University; Kylie Campbell, education scholarship from Jefferson County Extension Council, academic and leadership scholarships from Baker University and an educational scholarship from McLouth Alumni Association; Amanda Cain, KSHSAA Citizenship Scholarship, Jake Eibes, academic scholarship from Pittsburg State University; Joey Gregory, music scholarship from Pittsburg State University; Erin Heckard, Jefferson County Insurance Scholarship; Megan Howerton, academic scholarship from Pittsburg State University; Trevor Keling, academic scholarship from Pittsburg State University; Rocky Keyes, educational scholarship from Kansas State University; Lance Lamborn, academic scholarship from Kansas University; Jaclyn Lash, Honors Scholarship from Kansas City Kansas Community College; Brett Lundmark, education scholarship from Jefferson County Magazine and academic and marching band scholarships from Kansas University; Aaron Powell, music scholarship for Pittsburg State University and the KSHSAA Citizenship Scholarship; Dustin Rainey, academic and education scholarships from Johnson County Community College; Arthur Rollins, Leavenworth County 4-H Foundation Scholarship, Leavenworth County 4-H Association Leadership Scholarship, Leavenworth County Extension Council Scholarship and a Knights of Columbus education scholarship; Emily Showalter, academic and nursing scholarships from Fort Hays State University; and Rachael Thompson, softball scholarship from Dodge City Community College.

The Class of 2007 received more than $125,000 in scholarships.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.