Archive for Monday, December 22, 2008

Chieftains named to All-Area squads

December 22, 2008

Several Tonganoxie High athletes were honored by the Lawrence Journal-World this past week by being named to All-Area teams.

Boys soccer

Mitch DeHoff

The Chieftains’ junior goalkeeper single-handedly kept his team in a lot of games this season. DeHoff finished the 2008 season with a save percentage of 87 percent and helped decrease the number of goals THS allowed per game from six (in 2007) to 1.9 this season.

Honorable Mention: Austin Smith, senior, Jamison Bloomer, senior.


Chrissie Jeannin

The lone setter on this year’s THS team, Jeannin recorded 681 assists and delivered 49 aces for the Chieftains during the 2008 season. She also added 61 blocks and was named to the all-tournament teams at the Rossville and Tonganoxie Invitationals.

Honorable Mention: Molly O’Hagan, sophomore, Megan Puhr, senior, Abby Eisman, junior.

Football players receive honorable mention

Tonganoxie’s Zack Robinson, senior quarterback, Jeremy Carlisle, sophomore running back, and Boomer Carey, senior linebacker received honorable mention on the All-Area football team.

Three runners honored

Chieftain cross country runners junior Andie Jeannin, sophomore Alex Hauk and senior Matt Brock received honorable mention on the All-Area cross country team.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.