Archive for Wednesday, July 30, 2008

Primaries to be contested Tuesday; advance voting ends at noon Monday

Election 2008

Election 2008

July 30, 2008, 12:00 a.m.

Updated: August 4, 2008, 12:00 a.m.

Leavenworth and Wyandotte county residents don't have to wait until Tuesday to cast their vote in this week's primary elections, but undoubtedly many will.

According to Penny Reindl in the Leavenworth County election office, more than 150 area voters have already marked their ballots in advance at the County Courthouse, and advance voting continues until noon today at the Courthouse or at the Wyandotte County Election Office.

All registered Republicans in Leavenworth County can choose between former U.S. Congressman Jim Ryun and current Kansas state treasurer Lynn Jenkins for the United States House of Representatives' 2nd District Kansas seat, with the winner of that race going on to face the incumbent, U.S. Rep. Nancy Boyda, D-Kan., in a Nov. 4 general election. Wyandotte County Republicans can choose their party's nominee for the 3rd District congressional race from Shawnee residents Nick Jordan or Paul Showen. The winner will face incumbent Democrat Dennis Moore in November.

Democratic voters in the 5th State Senate District will have the option of incumbent Mark Gilstrap, D-Kansas City, Kan., or newcomer Kelly Kultala.

In the Kansas House of Representatives' 42nd District (represented currently by state Rep. Kenny Wilk, R-Lansing), Connie O'Brien and Ted Ingerson, both Republicans, will square off.

A race for the Leavenworth County Commission's 3rd District seat pits seven Republicans (Beverly "Bev" Oroke, John Flower, Francis Hurla, Dave Taylor, William "Bill" Merkel, Marvin Torneden and Tony Klamm) against one another, and the only other contested county primary is between two Republican candidates for Leavenworth County Attorney, Debra "Deb" Snider and Todd Thompson.

If waiting until Tuesday to vote, Leavenworth County residents can cast their ballots at the following sites that day from 7 a.m. to 7 pm.:

¢ Alexandria Township Fire Station, 23449 Bauserman Rd., for voters in the Springdale/Alexandria voting district;

¢ Wallula Christian Church, 23785 139th St., for southern Delaware Township voters;

¢ Holy Angels Catholic Church, Fr. Quinlan Hall, 15438 Leavenworth Rd., for the City of Basehor and Fairmount Township voting district;

¢ Fairmount Township Fire Station, 2620 N. 155th St., for Fairmount and Basehor Township;

¢ Glenwood Ridge Elementary School, 17550 158th St., for Glenwood and Fairmount Township;

¢ High Prairie Church, 26480 187th St., for Boling/High Prairie Township;

¢ Reno Township Fire Station, 12755 238th St., for Reno Township;

¢ Linwood Community Building, Third and Main streets, Linwood/Sherman Township;

¢ West Haven Baptist Church, 1000 West St., for Stranger Township;

¢ Stranger Township Fire Station, 19501 State Ave., for Walnut/Stranger Township;

¢ Tonganoxie VFW Building, 901 E. 1st St., for northern Tonganoxie;

¢ Sacred Heart Parish Center, 1100 West St., for southern Tonganoxie; and

¢ Administrative building at the Leavenworth County Fairgrounds for rural Tonganoxie.

All first-time voters in the county are required to show ID at their respective polling site.

Also, for voters still undecided in the primary transcripts of Web chats with candidates involved in contested races in Leavenworth County are available for viewing at

For more information on voting in Leavenworth County, contact the Leavenworth County Clerk's office at (913) 684-0421 or the Wyandotte County Election Office at (913) 573-8500.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.