Archive for Tuesday, November 4, 2008

Thompson ends Kohl’s 24-year run as county attorney

Adobe Flash player 9 is required to view this video
Get Adobe Flash player

Todd Thompson talks about his new position as the Leavenworth County Attorney.

November 4, 2008

Zoellner retains sheriff’s position

Leavenworth County voters Tuesday have returned one incumbent to a top law-enforcement position, but another is out after 24 years.

In the Leavenworth County Attorney’s race, with 48 of 48 precincts reporting, Republican challenger Todd Thompson is the winner. He had more than 7,000 votes more than incumbent Frank Kohl, as Thompson had 17,558 to 10,529.

Earlier this year, when Thompson was a prosecutor in the County Attorney's Office and he Kohl he was running for the position, Thompson was dismissed from his position. Thompson said Kohl told him the reason for dismissal was “a lack of judgment and forthrightness in the office.”

Kohl, 62, had held the office for 24 years.

Sheriff Dave Zoellner, a Democrat, also with 48 of 48 precincts reporting, finished with an advantage of just more than 2,300 votes against Republican and retired Leavenworth Police Lt. James Dyson.

Flower secures commission seat

With 13 of 13 precincts reporting in the Leavenworth County Commission District 3 race, Republican John Flower had 5,853 votes compared to Democrat Pete Henderson’s 5,177.

Flower, 62, who is retired from AT&T, won the race against the 66-year-old Henderson, who is a retired auto and home insurance sales manager.


Boyda ousted by Jenkins

The U.S. House Second Congressional District race between Democratic incumbent Nancy Boyda and Republican challenger Lynn Jenkins was expected to be a hotly contested one. But in the end it was the state treasurer who will be going to Washington in January as a congresswoman. Jenkins defeated Boyda with 5 percent of the vote in the 2nd District, which runs from the northern border of the state to the southern border and includes Leavenworth County. Boyda, a first-term representative, picked up 46 percent of the vote.

Roberts wins

U.S. Sen. Pat Roberts easily won re-election Tuesday evening.

The Republican incumbent led Democratic challenger Jim Slattery with 60 percent of the vote in the U.S. Senate race to Slattery’s 37.


O’Brien takes Moran in 42nd

The race for the seat held by retiring longtime State Rep. Kenny Wilk was neck and neck, but 42nd District voters decided to return a Republican to Topeka.

With 18 of 18 precincts reporting, Republican Connie O’Brien defeated Democrat Timothy Moran, 7,440-5,036.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.