Archive for Wednesday, April 8, 2009

Incumbents take Tonganoxie; challengers take some races in McLouth

April 8, 2009

Incumbents returned to their posts in Tonganoxie, while some in McLouth did not see the same results.

In the Tonganoxie City Council race, incumbents Jason Ward and Jim Truesdell won re-election collecting the top two slots in voting. Ward received 280 votes and Truesdell 267. Newcomer Burdel Welsh took the third and final spot by accumulating 254 votes. Roger Shilling and Sieglinde Marx, with 221 and 113 votes respectively, rounded out the city council voting.

In Tonganoxie School Board races, incumbent Kay Smith also won re-election, defeating challenger Randy Wager. Smith won 355 votes to Wager’s 326 in the Position 5 race

Doug Tate was the only candidate already in a governing body in Tonganoxie to not win. Tate was appointed more than a year ago to fill the unexpired term of Bob DeHoff, who resigned. On Tuesday, Tate lost to Kris Grinter, who accumulated 350 votes to Tate’s 234. Tim O’Hagan gained 100 votes in the Position 6 race.

In Position 4, Dan Hopkins ran unopposed.

All McLouth incumbents didn’t have the same success.

McLouth City Council incumbents Karl Abegg and Kim Perry were victorious, claiming 129 and 119 votes respectively. Harlan Woodring had 95 votes, Bob Smith 61 and Barbara Hasemeier 50.

McLouth Mayor Mike Graveman, however, did not win re-election, as he lost to Keith Meador by 19 votes, 131-112

In a Mclouth School Board race, another incumbent was defeated, as Doug Walbridge lost to Kristi Carlton won Position 4 with 250 votes, to Walbridge’s 199 and John Hart’s 32.

The other two seats went unopposed. Incumbent Mitch Campbell retained Position 6 with 381 votes, compared to 9 write-in votes.

Jessica Folsom tallied 406 votes for Position 5, compared to 6 write-in votes.

Also in McLouth, a measure regarding location of drinking establishments failed by one vote, 135-134. The measure, which also included regulations for available hours to serve alcohol and other requirements, said no drinking establishment can be located at the time of its initial license within 200 feet of a public school or church.

Basehor voters selected Terry Hill as their new mayor. Hill finished with 27 more votes than Iris Dysart, who is a current council member.

And in the only contested school board race, Richard Zamora had the most votes — 266 — compared to LeRoy Scharnhorst’s 229 and Leigh Farris’ 158.

Results are unofficial and will be made official after ballots have been canvassed.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.