Archive for Monday, December 7, 2009

TMS wrestlers win Clark tourney

December 7, 2009

The Tonganoxie Middle School wrestling team finished up a successful year in style at the Clark Middle School Invitational in Bonner Springs on Saturday.

The Warriors won the tournament for the first time as 16 of their 18 wrestlers medaled.

Seven Tonganoxie wrestlers placed first at the event: Billy Briggs, Clayton Himpel, Asher Huseman, Zeke Kissinger, Shane Levy, Joseph Wolf and Connor Yates.

Four others — Jeron Sharp, Brady Swedo, Dalton Tavis and Dylan Yates — placed second.

Meanwhile, Mitch Brock and Garrett Martin took third and Jordan Bourdreaux and Jared Somers finished fourth.

Ben Clark and Andrew Harris also competed for TMS but did not place.

Tonganoxie finished with 291.5 points at the tourney, which was 107 more than second-place Basehor-Linwood.

Coach Jeremy Goebel called it a “great year” for TMS wrestling.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.