Archive for Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Gumm, Hansen will not seek re-election

Ward to file Wednesday

January 21, 2009

With less than a week away before the deadline to file for the April elections, several city and school board seats are still open for any candidate.

Leavenworth County Clerk Janet Klasinski said few have filed for any of the available positions.

So far, Kay Smith and Doug Tate have been the only ones to file for re-election for the Tonganoxie School Board. Smith filed for position 5 and Tate has filed for position 6. Tate was appointed to the position after Bob DeHoff resigned in 2007.

Darlyn Hansen, who holds the seat for Position 4, said Tuesday that after eight years on the board, he didn’t have any plans to run for re-election. No one has filed to fill his seat.

City Councilmember Steve Gumm will also not seek re-election after eight years on the council, stating that he wants to spend more time with his family.

“I feel like the city has positively grown during the time that I have served. We have accomplished many things including improved infrastructure, a new swimming pool, new sidewalks and walking trails and a new city maintenance facility just to name a few things,” Gumm said. “I feel like I have learned a great deal and hope that my time and effort has been of benefit to the city. I especially want to thank the city staff and all employees. They do a great job and are certainly assets to the community.”

Jim Truesdell, whose council seat are also up for election in April, said he was not sure if he would be filing for re-election.

Tuesday night, Jason Ward told The Mirror that he would be running for re-election.

The deadline for filing for any of the available positions is noon Tuesday.

Anyone who wishes to file for Tonganoxie City Council can do so at Tonganoxie City Hall, 321 Delaware St., or the county clerks office in the Leavenworth County Courthouse, 300 Walnut St., in Leavenworth.

Those wishing to run for the open school board positions must register at the courthouse. Filing applications for the council seats are also available online at

Few have also filed in Basehor for their elections.

Terry Hill still remains the only applicant for the mayor’s race that will become vacant because Basehor Mayor Chris Garcia does not plan to seek re-election.

Dennis Mertz has filed for a council seat that will be vacated by councilmember Keith Seifert, who also does not plan to seek re-election.

Richard Zamora and Leigh Ferris have filed for Position 5, currently occupied by Pat Jeannin, and incumbent Gary Johnson has file for position 6. Wynne Coleman has filed for Position 4.

There is $5 fee charged for filing, but in some areas people can file by petition and have the fee waived.

The general election will be held Tuesday, April 7. If a primary is needed, it will be held March 3.

Klasinski urges anyone who wants to file to file early so if any mistakes are made, there will be enough time to correct them.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.