Archive for Wednesday, January 28, 2009

Several file for April election

January 28, 2009

The field is set for the 2009 April elections.

Tuesday at noon was the filing deadline for county residents to file for any of the seats that will be available this year.

In the City of Tonganoxie, both Jason Ward and Jim Truesdell have thrown in their hats for re-election.

Joining them this election cycle is Burdel Welsh, Sieglinde Marx and Roger Shilling.

Steve Gumm, who has served on the council for two terms, previously said he wanted to spend more time with his family and would not be seeking re-election.

The race also has filled out for the available Tonganoxie School Board seats.

Joining Kay Smith in the race for Position 5 is Randy Wager. Dan Hopkins is running alone for Position 4, which will be vacated by current board member Darlyn Hansen. Hansen said earlier that he would not seek re-election.

In Position 6, Doug Tate will be running for his first full term after being appointed to the position when Bob DeHoff resigned in 2007. Joining Tate in the race is Kris Grinter and Tim O’Hagan.

Basehor residents will now have two choices for mayor in this election. Joining councilmember Terry Hill is council president Iris Dysart. The two will be running for the vacancy that will be left by current mayor Chris Garcia, who did not plan on seeking re-election.

In the Basehor City Council race, Dennis Mertz will now be joined by David K. Breuer, who recently filed for the council seat that will be vacated by councilmember Keith Seifert. Seifert did not seek re-election.

The Basehor-Linwood School Board race also has a new name on the candidates list.

Joining Richard Zamora and Leigh Ferris for Position 5 is LeRoy Scharnhorst. Position 5 is currently occupied by Pat Jeannin. Running unopposed for Position 6 is incumbent Gary Johnson and running unopposed for Position 4 is Wynne Coleman.

The general election will be held Tuesday, April 7.


Ted_W 9 years, 4 months ago

Smith and Tate should have resigned.

Wager and Grinter would be good replacements.

Hansen did a good job. Thanks for your service.

Hopkins will be a good replacement.

Again, we need CHANGE, replace Smith and Tate!!

(Leslie and Baragary ought to resign now, they've fulfilled their scheme to release the Superintendent)


getagrip 9 years, 4 months ago

You so need to get over it and move on!


jsctongie 9 years, 4 months ago

Smith, Baragary, and Leslie have been very responsive when Dr Erickson " stood behind his employees." Standing up for employees is one thing, covering up for them is a completely different matter. There is more to the story.


Ted_W 9 years, 4 months ago

Well, maybe you're right. Tate is probably uninformed and may decide to listen to the 70%. He may have been beholding to the other three members.

Smith, regardless of her motives in the superintendent case should step down. The law needs to be changed because she is clearly in a conflict of interest as a board member. She is a member of the NEA and as a member of this union has the interests of the union which conflict with the interests of tax payers.


Commenting has been disabled for this item.