Archive for Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Musical attracts hundreds

November 16, 2011

The Tonganoxie High School theatre, arts and music departments’ presentation of “Li’l Abner” attracted an estimated attendance of 1,000 people during a four-day showing this past week.

Director Steve Harrell gave the estimate Monday for the musical, which took place Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings, as well as Sunday afternoon.

The musical was based on a comic strip created by Al Capp.

Here’s a list of the cast, with character listed first and THS student second:

Li’l Abner Yokum, Jonas Myers; Daisy Mae Scragg, Taylor Clark; Marryin’ Sam, Michael Christensen; Mammy Yokum, Halston Field; Pappy Yokum, Brady Field; Earthquake McGon, Daniel Monahan; Mayor Dan’l Dawgmeat, Mattew Swaim; Sen. Jack S. Phogbound, Tyler O’Briant; Dr. Rasmussen T. Finsdale, Matthew Briggs; Dr. Abigail Smithborn, Mallory Harrell; Dr. Meritus Krogmeyer, Kelsi Briggs; Dr. Rebecca Schleifitz, Allie Packard; Gen. Bullmoose, Marcus Titterington; Appasionata Von Climax, Christopher Tiner; Evil Eye Fleagle, Jackson Bartlett; Available Jones, Dominic Pitts; Stupefyin’ Jones, Rachel Woods; Moonbeam McSwine, Rachel Sparks; Lonesome Polecat, Nathan Dowell; Hairless Joe/Chad; Jacob Casselman; Romeo Scragg, Jonathan Duval; Speedy McRabbit, Quin Smith; Rebecca (Creighton), Sara Krapp; Colonel/policeman, Thomas Fox; Ruby Pettibone (mother), Beth Jobst; Wally Pettibone (crony No. 1), Josh Hunter; Baxter Scatterbush (crony No. 2), Levi Koch; Cecilia Softwick, Megan Ebbert; Bullmoose secretaries, Lauren Harrell, Haley Starcher, Megan Briggs and Meagan Behm; Dogpatch wives and huzbuns, Bonnie Monahan, Kate Ebbert, Aly Bartholomew, Madison Fletcher, Jessic Reyes, Aaron McIntyre, Milton Ulreich, Dylan Olson, Tyler Wehmeyer and Justin Leslie; Dogpatch maidens, Jessica Somers, Haley Knipp, Madison Derry and Alysia Gonzales; human guinea pigs, Amos White, Ben Clark, Dallas Jacobs, Jesse Kaighin and Tyler Stockman.

Members of the pit band were: Heather Brown, piano; Amy Wilkens and Roger Black, trumpet; Joey Rausch, Katie Schenk, Katelyn Waldeier, Paige Shomin and Cydney Garner, reed; Marcus Cunningham, bone; David Wiggins, percussion, and Wesley Williams, bass guitar.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.