Archive for Monday, November 19, 2012

Five Chieftains earn All-KVL football honors

November 19, 2012

Several Tonganoxie High football players have been recognized by the very coaches they faced this season, as five Chieftains are present on the 2012 All-KVL football rosters.

Junior Shane Levy earned a pair of recognitions, garnering second-team honors as a defensive lineman and honorable mention as a wide receiver. Levy led THS with seven sacks and finished fifth on the team with 45 total tackles. As a receiver, he hauled in 42 catches for 606 yards and two touchdowns — all team-highs.

The Chieftains didn't have any first-team recipients, but Levy was joined on the second team by senior Thomas Miller (offensive line) and fellow junior Cole Holloway (running back). Miller was the only THS senior to be honored by the league. Holloway racked up 1,271 yards and 10 touchdowns to lead the Chieftains' ground attack in 2012. He became the school's first 1,000-yard rusher since Jeremy Carlisle went for 1,105 in 2009.

Junior Eric Tate (kicker) and sophomore Jared Sommers (defensive back) rounded out the list of THS honorees with a pair of honorable mention selections. Tate was 4-of-7 on field goal attempts and 14-of-18 on extra point attempts this season. Sommers had two forced fumbles and an interception to go along with his team-leading 72 tackles.

The individual postseason honors cap off a year in which the Chieftains more than doubled their win total from the previous two seasons combined and won their first district title since 2005.

2012 All-KVL football team

First team offense

QB Skylar Windmiller — Mill Valley

RB Drew Potter — Basehor-Linwood

RB Matt McDonald — Piper

WR Staton Rebeck — Mill Valley

WR Paul Jones — Piper

TE Ben Johnson — Basehor-Linwood

OL Andrew Lillich — Basehor-Linwood

OL Coleman McCann — Mill Valley

OL Joe Jerome — Mill Valley

OL Blake Martin — Piper

OL Sam Worthy — Turner

K Connor Mills — Mill Valley

First team defense

DL Ben Johnson — Basehor-Linwood

DL Tim Thomas — Mill Valley

DL Ryan Smith — Mill Valley

DL Drake Leger — Turner

LB Matt Call — Bonner Springs

LB Micah Clarke — Mill Valley

LB T.J. Phillips — Mill Valley

LB Colton Beebe — Piper

DB Tanner Garver — Basehor-Linwood

DB Ryan Bath — Mill Valley

DB Keaton Cofield — Piper

P Ben Johnson — Basehor-Linwood

Second team offense

QB Tanner Eikenbary — Piper

RB Lucas Mein — Lansing

RB Cole Holloway — Tonganoxie

WR Kahlil Bailey — Lansing

WR L.J. Hatch — Mill Valley

TE Maverick Dearinger — Piper

OL Josh Barnes — Basehor-Linwood

OL Jesus Manarca — Bishop Ward

OL Shawn Bryant — Bonner Springs

OL Chase Taylor — Lansing

OL Coltyn Gatton — Mill Valley

OL Thomas Miller — Tonganoxie

K Jose Mejia — Piper

Second team defense

DL Drew Potter — Basehor-Linwood

DL Tyler Howell — Bonner Springs

DL Sean Eskina — Piper

DL Shane Levy — Tonganoxie

LB Cory McCleary — Basehor-Linwood

LB Christian Porter — Lansing

LB Blake Miles — Mill Valley

LB Blake Martin — Piper

DB Jonathan Blackwell — Bonner Springs

DB Matt McDonald — Piper

DB Jeremy Jensen — Turner

P Colton Beebe — Piper

Honorable mention offense

QB Jordan Jackson — Bonner Springs

QB Paul Berry — Turner

RB Kendall Short — Mill Valley

WR Jonathan Blackwell — Bonner Springs

WR Shane Levy — Tonganoxie

TE Thad Marshall — Lansing

TE Zach Hannah — Mill Valley

OL Jacob Frederick — Turner

OL Jay O'Bryan — Basehor-Linwood

OL Andrew Kump — Bishop Ward

OL Jacob Wylie — Bonner Springs

OL Drew Goebel — Lansing

OL Knute Holden — Mill Valley

OL Evan Applegate — Mill Valley

OL Jonathan Ortiz — Piper

OL Blake Knetter — Piper

K Jason VanMaren — Bonner Springs

K Brad Brown — Lansing

K Eric Tate — Tonganoxie

Honorable mention defense

DL Nick Chaney — Basehor-Linwood

DL Andrew Kump — Bishop Ward

DL Jesus Manarca — Bishop Ward

DL Kyle Dumler — Bonner Springs

DL Chase Taylor — Lansing

DL Lincoln Benson — Mill Valley

DL Kyle Skinner — Piper

LB Jake Phillips — Basehor-Linwood

LB Aaron Puckett — Bonner Springs

LB Tyler Ayres — Lansing

DB Lucas Mein — Lansing

DB Xavier Chestang — Lansing

DB Jared Sommers — Tonganoxie

DB De'Andre Fenrick — Turner

P Andrew Schneider — Bishop Ward

P Brad Brown — Lansing

P Skylar Windmiller — Mill Valley


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.