Archive for Thursday, October 4, 2012

Tonganoxie students named Kansas Honor Scholars

October 4, 2012

Kansas University honored nearly 100 Leavenworth County high school seniors as Kansas Honor Scholars — several of whom were from Tonganoxie — Wednesday, Sept. 26, in Leavenworth.

During the ceremony, which took place at the Riverfront Community Center, each student received a Webster’s New College Dictionary from Teri Harris, assistant director of membership for the KU Alumni Association.

Neeli Bendapudi, dean for the business school at KU, spoke at the event.

Community volunteers collect contributions, coordinate details and serve as local contacts for the event. Kathy Meyer of Leavenworth is the site coordinator. Bianca Elliott of Linwood is the Leavenworth County coordinator.

There were 96 Leavenworth County Scholars. Here is a list of the Tonganoxie representatives:

Tonganoxie High School seniors

Kelsi Briggs, Ski-Laine Ettinger, Hannah Kemp, Paige Lauri, Wyatt Maurer, Stephanie Miller, Thomas Miller, Brett Morey, Brett Shelton, Jessica Sommers, Holley Thompson, Christopher Tiner, Keaton Truesdell, Madeline Walker, Jennifer Whitledge, Rachel Woods.

Joseph Levinson, Tonganoxie, who is a Basehor-Linwood High School senior, also was honored.

Since 1971, the Kansas Honors Program has recognized more than 117,000 scholars who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher-education goals. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers play host to 37 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state and more than 360 high schools.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.