Archive for Tuesday, October 30, 2012

State cross country roundup: Wamego boys protect home course

October 30, 2012

Class 6A

Olathe East won the 6A girls state title at Rim Rock Farm in Lawrence with a team score of 89. The Hawks finished 11 points ahead of runner-up Garden City in the team standings. Senior Alli Cash of Shawnee Mission West won the individual title with a time of 14 minutes, 2.8 seconds.

On the boys side, SMNW blew away the competition with its first-place score of 43 points. Wichita North finished second, but was 49 points behind the Cougars. Stilwell-Blue Valley senior Colton Donahue (15:22.4) won the individual title.

Class 5A

St. Thomas Aquinas’ score of 50 was just enough to defeat runner-up Bishop Carroll (58) for the girls team title in Lawrence. Carroll had the race’s top individual runner in senior Kaelyn Balch (14:63.4), but STA won the team championship thanks to four top-12 finishes.

It was the opposite on the boys side, where Carroll (45) beat St. Thomas Aquinas (55) in the team standings. Shawnee Mission South senior Curtis Cline was the individual champ, as his time of 15:58.8 bested the second-place finisher by more than six seconds.

Class 4A

Topeka-Hayden’s girls used three top-10 finishes to comfortably win the team title with a score of 69 at Wamego Country Club. Second-place finisher Winfield checked in at 92. Fort Scott junior Katren Reinbolt won the individual crown with a time of 14:50.2. She was the only runner to finish in less than 15 minutes.

The Wamego boys took care of business on their own course, as five runners finished in the top-20 to clinch the team title with a score of 69. Runner-up Mulvane (74) had three top-15 runners, but couldn’t match Wamego’s depth. Winfield junior Josh Hanna (15:46.1) claimed the individual title.

Class 3A

The Douglass girls only had five runners in Lawrence, but four of them finished in the top-12 and propelled the team to a state title with a score of 76. Norton Community came in second with a score of 94. Hiawatha sophomore Jordan Puvogel (15:30.6) won the individual championship.

The Hutchinson-Trinity Catholic boys had three top-10 runners and convincingly won the team title with a score of 75 — 35 points better than runner-up Scott Community. Salina-Sacred Heart senior Cory Donley (16:03.5) beat the field by more than 12 seconds for the individual title.

Class 2A

None of Elbing-Berean Academy’s seven girls finished worse than 32nd in Wamego, and the team won the overall title with a score of 82. Ellinwood and Shawnee-Maranatha Academy tied for second (91), but Ellinwood was named the runner-up because its sixth-place runner finished ahead of Marantha’s sixth-place runner. Lincoln senior Jenna Farris (15:31.9) won the individual title.

Ellinwood’s top five boys all finished in the top-15 and the team won the overall title with a score of 56. Johnson-Stanton County (74) came in second. Ness City junior Carson Dray (16:13.2) won the individual championship.

Class 1A

Tribune-Greeley County’s girls had three runners in the top-10 in Wamego and won the overall championship with a score of 35 — 21 points ahead of runner-up Axtell. Axtell senior Audrey Schmitz (15:49.1) beat the next-best runner by more than 15 seconds to claim the individual crown.

TCG’s boys capped off a sweep by winning the team title with a score of 34. Pike Valley (44) finished second. Centralia senior Lucas Koch (16:16) bested the field by more than 34 seconds to win the individual title.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.