Archive for Wednesday, December 4, 2013

Oskaloosa opens wrestling season at home

Saffer, Copeland notch wins for McLouth

December 4, 2013

The Oskaloosa High wrestling team got its first taste of live competition Tuesday when it welcomed Leavenworth-Immaculata and Wathena-Riverside to town for a season-opening triangular.

Nine OHS team members, including six from McLouth, saw their first varsity action of the year. As a team, Oskaloosa went a combined 4-7 against the Raiders and Cyclones.

"Competition is so much different than the actual wrestling itself," coach Jerrod Bammes said. "At this point, it's enormous. That's the good thing about this small tournament is getting that little bit of competition."

McLouth's Ethan Saffer (145 pounds) got Oskaloosa's first win of the year with a pin of Immaculata's Conner Sloan. The match was the first of Saffer's career. Jake Copeland (285) was the only other MHS wrestler to record a win, defeating Riverside's Colton Norris, 8-2.

Wyatt Troupe (152), Griffin Hayden (195), Zach Thomas (126) and Zach Coleman (220) also made their season debuts, but failed to record a win. Coleman wrestled in two matches, but was pinned in both.

OHS wrestlers Mark Nickels (120), Lance Hickman (170) and Ben Harvey (160) rounded out the Bears' day. Nickels lost his only match, Hickman pinned Immaculata's Anthony Briggs and Harvey went 1-1 with a pin of Riverside's James Snodgrass.

"We didn't turn out as well (Tuesday) as I was hoping to, but we've isolated things we need to work on," Bammes said. "We know where that is now, so we can take that next step with that."

Oskaloosa will continue its season Saturday at the George Worley/Larry Tilton Memorial Duals in Effingham. The meet is hosted by fifth-place state finisher Atchison County Community High School.

Oskaloosa individual results

120 — Sheldon Harris (RIV) pinned Mark Nickels (OSK)

126 — Colton Ruhl (RIV) pinned Zach Thomas (OSK)*

145 — Ethan Saffer (OSK) pinned Conner Sloan (IMA)*

152 — Bruce Stanley (IMA) pinned Wyatt Troupe (OSK)*

160 — Max Campbell (IMA) pinned Ben Harvey (OSK)

160 — Ben Harvey (OSK) pinned James Snodgrass (RIV)

170 — Lance Hickman (OSK) pinned Anthony Briggs (IMA)

195 — Braxton Goacher (RIV) def. Griffin Hayden (OSK), 7-1*

220 — Cody Walker (RIV) pinned Zack Coleman (OSK)*

220 — Spencer Norris (RIV) pinned Zack Coleman (OSK)*

285 — Jake Copeland (OSK) def. Colton Norris (RIV), 8-2*

*Denotes match with McLouth wrestler


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.