Archive for Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Southern Leavenworth County Leadership Development Class completes graduation requirements

May 7, 2013

The Southern Leavenworth Leadership Development Class of 2014 finished up its “school year” with graduation Wednesday, May 1, at the Community National Bank conference room in Basehor.

The class, which was started in 1990 as a joint venture of the Tonganoxie and Basehor chambers of commerce, completed its requirements for the year, which started with the first of eight monthly classes.

The group’s first meeting, in September, focused on personal development. Other class themes were leadership/teambuilding, education, local government, communications, city government and economic development, state government and communications.

The class visited the Leavenworth County Courthouse, Leavenworth County Justice Center and Lansing Correctional Facility in Leavenworth/Lansing; Tonganoxie and Basehor-Linwood school districts; the Lawrence Journal-World and Channel 6 in Lawrence; and the Capitol in Topeka.

SLCLD classes also select a group project. This year’s class worked on improvements at the Leavenworth County Fairgrounds in Tonganoxie. Class members, through donations from businesses and residents in the area, raised money for an illuminated sign with manual message board at the fairgrounds, as well as painting work inside the 4-H building. 4-H volunteers and others helped the class with the painting project.

SLCLD board chairperson gave the welcome and introductions at the graduation. 2012-13 class member Kathy Baragary gave a presentation on the painting project at the fairgrounds.

Kenny Wilk, former state representative and current member of the Kansas Board of Regents, was guest speaker for the ceremony.

Class members Greg Orscheln and Paige Lauri gave class responses, while Barnes and fellow board member Christina Moberly presented graduation plaques to the class.

Joining Orscheln, Lauri and Kathy Baragary as members of this year’s graduating class: Scott Bredeson, Jennifer McCullough, William Blankenship, Michelle Derry, Caylea Stiler, Rachel Bennett, Jenne Laytham, Jody Baragary, Lisa Watson, Patricia Case, Ruth Straton, Michelle Sherley, Debbie Kirby, Bill Peak and Curt Wright.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.