Insurance Department studying continuing education programs
Topeka The Kansas Insurance Department is considering whether insurance agents need more training.
Currently, the state's insurance agents are required to complete 12 hours of education every other year. Most states require 24 hours for insurance agents.
The Wichita Eagle reports the department wants to complete a study of the question in the fall and present recommendations to the Legislature in January.
The Legislature has considered five bills in the last four years to raise the minimum education standard but none became law.
Clark Shultz, director of government and public affairs for the department, says it has not taken a stance on the issue before but wants to reach a conclusion about whether the state's requirement is adequate before the next legislative session.
More like this story
- Kansas House, Senate pass budget bill; no new funding for public schools
- Kansas efficiency consultants outline $2 billion in savings, efficiencies over five years
- Kansas school funding needs 'complete overhaul,' Republican-led committee says
- Tonganoxie City Fire Department, Leavenworth County EMS work together for continued training
- Kansas' criminal forfeiture law, among nation's toughest, faces bipartisan effort to change