Archive for Wednesday, June 3, 2015

Tonganoxie USD 464 superintendent’s contract extended through 2017

District has several resignations

Tonganoxie USD 464 central office.

Tonganoxie USD 464 central office.

June 3, 2015

The Tonganoxie USD 464 School Board has approved a contract extension for Superintendent Lyn Rantz.

Rantz is in the first year of a two-year contract. Monday’s unanimous approval extends her contract to 2017.

There were several other work agreements and resignations approved at the meeting.

Christy Angell and Michelle Perich, two elementary school paraprofessionals who weren’t going to be retained in their positions because of budget cuts, were hired as special education paras.

Stephanie Maurer was the other TES para, along with Angell and Perich, whose position was being eliminated because of cuts. Maurer was one of three paraprofessionals in the personnel recommendations whose work agreement wasn’t extended. Rebecca Wolfe and Janet Hodges were the two others. Wolfe was a TES special education paraprofessional and Hodges a TMS special education para.

The board approved several work agreements at the meeting: Stacy McElderry, 6-8 math teacher (replacing Brian Preston); Julie Crowley, TMS life skills special education teacher (replacing Susan Neverve); Matt Beat, THS social studies teacher (replacing Katy Hayden); Jane Bennett, high school counselor (replacing Sue Walker); Karen Stockman, TES gifted facilitator (transferring from fourth-grade teacher); Pam Maughmer, TES early childhood special education teacher (replacing Pam Meador); Patrick Holton, THS assistant track coach (replacing Sue Walker; Nichole Gurwell, TES/TMS instructional coach (transferring from fourth grade teacher position); Tabitha Hayes (transferring from fourth grade to third grae to replace Karen Stockman); Wendy Haresnape, third-grade teacher (replacing Sarah Edwards; Stephanie Lang, fourth-grade teacher (replacing Nichole Gurwell); Sally Ketchell, THS language arts teacher (replacing Jessie Leigh); Christin Urban, THS language arts teacher (replacing Emily Crady); Preston Troyer, THS computer graphics (replacing David Walker); David Hillmon, THS physical education teacher (replacing Preston Troyer. He will be half-time at TMS and half-time at THS); Maggie Miller, fourth-grade teacher (replacing Jordan Poskey); and Will Dunn, THS math teacher (replacing Rachelle Pauly.

There also were 14 resignations approved at the meeting: Katy Hayden, THS social studies; David Walker, THS library media specialist, technology assistant, yearbook sponsor, THS girls basketball assistant coach, THS assistant golf coach; Emily Crady, THS language arts teacher, eighth-grade volleyball head coach; Rachelle Pauly, TMS math teacher, freshman girls basketball coach, THS track head coach; Sara Laundy, THS concessions; Sarah Edwards, TES third-grade teacher; Sarah Edwards, TES third-grade teacher; Keith Miller, eighth-grade boys assistant basketball coach, eighth-grade girls assistant basketball coach, eighth-grade assistant football coach, TMS girls assistant track coach; Josey Eastes, seventh-grade boys basketball head coach; Alyssa Cruickshank, teacher of deaf and hard of hearing; Brian Kroll, THS assistant wrestling coach; Kelly Janson, THS business teacher and FBLA sponsor; Brian Arnold, TES speech para; James Metz, special education bus driver; and Becky Walters TES special education para-educator.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.