Archive for Wednesday, December 7, 2016

Technology award for Tonganoxie Community Historical Society

December 7, 2016

The Tonganoxie Community Historical Society has won the 2016 Technology Award from the Kansas Museums Association.

TCHS representatives received the award Nov. 4 during the annual KMA conference at Fort Leavenworth.

The conference allows museum staff and volunteers across the state to gather and share ideas, accomplishments and visions for the future.

The KMA Technology Award was given for the four-DVD set, Traditional Tales of Tonganoxie, that tells the history of the first 100 years of Tonganoxie. The set contains 30 chapters and totals six hours. The history and stories are presented “Ken Burns” style, using photos, maps and diagrams with descriptions provided by narration and clips from more than 14 oral history interviews that are archived at the historical society’s museum.

Perry Walters accepted the award for TCHS. He has spent thousands of hours as videographer, editor, writer and narrator. It was a labor of love, fueled by his desire to document the stories and histories told on the DVD set.

Susy Ross wrote and narrated Chapter 1 on the Delaware Indians. Walters’ wife, Laurie Walters, narrated several chapters. Rachel Kelly of Rnky-Dink Graphics designed the cover and DVD sleeves. All together, some 25 Tonganoxie residents contributed to the project.

Ross also won the KMA Award for Distinguished Service in 2014.

Traditional Tales of Tonganoxie is $28 at the museum gift shop. It’s open 1-4 p.m. Sundays, 9 a.m.-4 p.m. Tuesdays and 9 a.m.-noon Wednesdays.

Other TCHS members and Tonganoxie residents who have contributed to the outcome include Art Hancock, JW Evans, Charles “Tuna” Conrad, Harold Denholm, Bob Lenahan, Kathy Peak, Connie Putthoff, Carol Slawson, “Bud” Laming, Tom Laming, Pat Black, Charles Haines, Kent Quarles, Emil Wiley and June Hagenbuch.

These deceased members also contributed while part of TCHS: Margaret Gallagher, Grace Schilling, Helen Schilling, Roger Shilling, William Freienmuth, Joey Brown, Roy Salmon and Jack Hoey.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.