Archive for Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Tonganoxie High School to celebrate National FFA Week starting Monday

February 16, 2016

The Tonganoxie FFA Chapter will celebrate National FFA Week next week with a host of events, including its annual breakfast.

Spirit days this year are College Team Day on Monday, Tacky Tourist Day on Tuesday and A Walk Through the Ages on Wednesday, Feb. 24. For that day, freshmen are encouraged to dress as babies, sophomores as toddlers, juniors as adults and seniors as senior citizens.

That day also will be Teacher Appreciation Day. Each Tonganoxie High School teacher will receive a doughnut for helping to support the organization.

Feb. 25 has been designated Hick Day in conjunction with the Hick Night theme during the basketball game that night. Also, students will be able to pay $1 to wear their favorite hat during school that day. Proceeds will go toward FFA trips and activities.

Finally, Feb. 26 is Freedom Day (American-themed). It’s also National Drive your Tractor to School Day.

Festivities conclude with FFA members serving its businessperson’s breakfast from 6:30 to 10:30 a.m. at the THS east campus cafeteria. Donations are welcome, but not required.

FFA students will lead games during the week, with FFA Trivia and Ag Trivia during morning announcements.

Students also will get the opportunity to guess which THS teachers were in FFA when they were in high school.

And, a match game is planned. FFA members will have colored and numbered paper cutouts of a pig and each student in the school must find their matching pig.

Zachary Callaghan, this year’s Tonganoxie FFA president, said he’s looking forward to next week’s festivities.

“My favorite part about FFA Week is getting the whole school and community members involved, while increasing their awareness of our organization and the importance of agriculture,” he said.

Other 2015-16 chapter officers are Haley Arevalo, vice president; Blaze Taylor, secretary; Tracy Oelschlaeger, treasurer; Savanah Reynolds, reporter; Makayla Callaghan, sentinel; Samantha Koch, historian; Sierra Graham, Day at the Farm chairperson; Tanner Walden, sweepstakes chairperson; and Mariah Dohle, student council representative.

The national organization has existed for nearly 90 years.

In 1928, 33 students from 18 states gathered in Kansas City, Mo., to form the Future Farmers of America. The organization now just goes by FFA.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.