Archive for Wednesday, September 7, 2016

Tonganoxie High cross country competes well against Lansing

September 7, 2016

Tonganoxie opened the cross country season last week with a dual on the road against Lansing.

The THS boys nearly had a victory, scoring 29 to Lansing’s low score of 27. The Lions also won the girls meet with 21 points to the Chieftains’ 35.

In the boys race, Tonganoxie’s Drew Cook took first with a time of 18 minutes, 5 seconds. Carter Kietzmann placed second in 18:50 and Calvin Morgan sixth with 19:43 time. Jakob Foley placed ninth (20:08) and Chandler Hamman 11th (20:24).

Jake Edholm placed 13th (20:27), Scott Vick 15th (20:33) and Cullen (21:07). Josh Bosley placed 18th (21:18) and Tommy Wetta 20th (21:32).

Dylan Graham took 21st (21:36), Nick French 24th (22:02) Brendan Rogers 27th (23:44), Alex Falk (23:58) and Gage Smith 29th (24:21).

Aaron Grant placed 31st (24:27), Tyler Griffith 33rd (24:32), Kyle Chambers 36th (25:28), Luke Falk 37th (25:36) and Phillip Rutherford 40th (26:27).

Braxton Shupe finished 42nd (26:45), Abraham Puebla 43rd (27:06), Jon Derzinski 46th (28:11), Phillip Vaughn 47th (29:58) and Simon Stevens 48th (30:09).

The top 5 finishers count toward the team score.

On the girls side, THS took the 4, 5, 6, 9 and 11 spots, while LHS had top runners place Nos. 1, 2, 3, 7 and 8.

For Tonganoxie Sierra Staatz led the way in fourth with a 23:13 time, while Mia Bond was just 3 seconds behind in fifth. Emily Chambers placed sixth with a 24:08 time and Hope Creten ninth in 24:26.

Alyssa Scott had the final score in 11th with a24:53 time.

Other runners for the Chieftains were Mathia Slinkard in 14th (25:23) Erin Williams in 17th (27:06) and Martina Tamburella 20th (28:50). Lauren Lawson took 24th (32:11) and Samantha Angell 28th (35:54).

The Chieftains next compete Thursday at the Holton Invitational.

Varsity and junior varsity girls start at 4:35 p.m., junior varsity boys at 5:05 p.m. and varsity boys at 5:35 p.m.

Teams at the meet with Tonganoxie are Abilene, Atchison County, Hiawatha, Holton, Jackson Heights, Jeff West, Kickapoo Nation, Maur Hill-Mount Academy, McLouth, Perry-Lecompton, Riverside (Wathena), Royal Valley, Topeka Cornerstone and Wetmore.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.