Archive for Thursday, September 22, 2016

Tonganoxie High cross country varsity teams sweep again at home invite

September 22, 2016, 5:16 p.m.

Updated: September 23, 2016, 11:37 a.m.

Editor's note: This is an updated version of the original story. Chandler Hamman inadvertently was omitted from the list of placings in the boys varsity race.

Tonganoxie High represented well on its home cross country course Tuesday at the Leavenworth County Fairgrounds.

Both varsity teams won the overall team title, as did the the junior varsity boys. The THS varsity teams swept their races at an invite for the second consecutive meet.

Mia Bond and Sierra Staatz led THS with a 1-2 punch in the girls varsity race.

Bond placed first with a time of 21 minutes, 45.52 seconds, with Staatz second at (22:14.34).

Emily Chambers placed fifth (22:54.4), Alyssa Scott seventh (23:41.3) and Hope Creten eighth (24:08.99).

Mathia Slinkard placed 10th (24:21.74).

Tonganoxie won the meet with a convincing score of 18 points, one place off a perfect score. Maranatha Christian Academy placed second with 40, Bishop Seabury third (79), St. James Academy fourth (95). Other schools also were at the meet, but did not field full teams.

Cook leads THS boys

Drew Cook again was Tonganoxie’s top runner last week.

The senior placed second (17:36.62) at his final home invitational, with Bishop Seabury freshman Henry Nelson taking first (17:31.11).

Carter Kietzman placed fourth (17:53.9), Calvin Morgan fifth (18:40.05), Jakob Foley seventh (19:07.62) and Chandler Hamman eighth (19:10.78). Jake Edholm finished ninth (19:11.52) and Scott Vick 10th (19:28.24) for the Chieftains.

Tonganoxie won with 24 points, with Maranatha Christian Academy second (58), Kansas City Harmon third (72), St. James Academy and Bishop Seabury tied for fourth (118) and Jefferson West sixth (161). Like the boys varsity race, several other teams had runners, but did not field full teams.

Graham takes JV race

Tonganoxie’s Dylan Graham won the boys junior varsity race.

The freshman finished in 19:53.99. Josh Bosley placed second (20:27.93), Adrian Cullen fourth (20:49.02), Brndan Rogers 12th (4:28.29) and Nick French 13th (22:25.18). Alex Falk finished 20th (23:50.34), Gage Smith 21st (24:14.3) and Tyler Griffith 22nd (24:19.81). Noah Strong placed 28th (24:31.81), Luke Falk 31st (25:04.96) and Kyle Chambers 33rd (25:18.81).

THS won the JV race with 30 points, Wamego second (32), KC Wyandotte third (70), St. James Academy fourth (111), Pleasant Ridge fifth (147), Jefferson West sixth (177) and KC Washington seventh (189).

Williams 3rd in girls JV

Erin Williams led the THS girls JV team with a third-place finish (28:19.08). Martina Tamburello placed fourth (29:20.46) and Taylor Lynne seventh (30:24.18).

Wyandotte won the race with 21 points. St. James Academy finished second (35).


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.