Archive for Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Substate, postseason coming up at end of month for Tonganoxie, McLouth teams

February 8, 2017

The postseason will be here at the end of the month for basketball and wrestling teams. Here’s a closer look at where Tonganoxie and McLouth teams are headed:

Wrestling regionals announced

Tonganoxie will be heading south for its Class 4A regional Feb. 17 and 18.

THS has been assigned to the Santa Fe Trail regional. The Chieftains will visit their former Kaw Valley League foe for regionals. Other teams there along with SFT and THS will be Atchison, Baldwin, Basehor-Linwood, Bonner Springs, Eudora, Holton, Bishop Ward, Piper, Jeff West, Ottawa, Bishop Miege, Spring Hill and Hayden.

Other 4A regional sites are Buhler, El Dorado and Frontenac.

This year’s 6A sites are Hutchinson and Blue Valley-Stillwell. The 5A sites are Goddard and Leavenworth and 3-2-1A will be at Southeast of Saline (Gypsum), Jayhawk Linn (Mound City), Trego Community (WaKeeney) and Wabaunsee.

Basketball substates assigned

Tonganoxie basketball teams will play substate games March 2-4 at Piper. Other teams in the bracket are Atchison, Basehor-Linwood and Piper in 4A Division-I action. Abilene, Andover Central, Bonner Springs, Buhler, Independence, Rose Hill and Spring Hill are other substate sites.

McLouth will be at the Valley Falls substate in 2A. Other teams there will be Jackson Heights, Bishop Seabury, Olathe-Heritage Christian, Kansas City Christian, Maranatha Christian Academy, Troy, Valley Falls and Jefferson County North.

Other 2A substate sites are Bennington, Canton-Galva, Greensburg (Kiowa County), Stanton County, Oxford, Plainville and Uniontown.

This year’s 6A sites are Junction City, Blue Valley West, Shawnee Mission South and Wichita Northwest, while 5A sites are Goddard, Lansing, Newton and Blue Valley Southwest.

The 4A D-II sites are Andale, Santa Fe Trail, Concordia, Girard, Jeff West, Parsons, Pratt and Scott Community. The 3A sites are Erie, Mission Valley, Fredonia, Garden Plain, Lyons, Russell, Sabetha and St. Marys.

And in 1A D-I, Centralia, Clifton-Clyde, Goessel, Kiowa-South Barber, Montezuma-South Gray, Olpe, Osborne and Quinter are all substate hosts. The 1A D-II sites are Attica, Axtell, Ingalls, Palco, Rolla, Sylvan Grove, Tribune-Greeley County and Waverly.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.